Potato Salad with Mint Dressing

I started hot yoga in Chicago. It’s different than any other (hot) yoga class I’ve taken before. The studio is the nicest studio I’ve seen–despite the fact that it’s a three-floor walk up (which I guess is easier to do BEFORE the class than it would be after the class). The lobby is large and very clean.  The changing rooms are spacious. There are free lockers with keys that you are allowed to take into the room.

As for the class…differences abound. Every yoga class I’ve taken previously used music or sound at some point. Even if it were a CD of crickets chirping–at the very least during the cool down at the end of class, there would be music. Not so here. Total silence. Also, every yoga class I’ve taken previously did some sort of sun salutation with forward folds, down dogs, stuff like that. Not a single downward facing dog in this entire class. While we’re at it, no forward folds, no warriors and no lunges.

What did we do for 60 minutes, then? First, for those who are unaware of what “hot yoga” is, it’s regular yoga but in a room that’s intentionally at least 100*F and at least 50% humidity. You need to bring a towel to cover your mat to prevent it from becoming a slip n slide. Anyway, I digress. Our main poses for that class (by the way, none of these pictures is of me, and none of these pictures was taken by me. Do a google image search for the poses and promise you’ll find them quickly):

  • Chair poses, with variations to boot:
    0b6a13aaf9e70757b92cca93ba646245
    This is training for high heels.

    8671083966_5479274f71_b
    Not bad, but you feel the burn.
  • Eagle pose:

    eagle-pose-yoga_2
    This feels about as natural as it looks.
  • Standing head to knee:

    standing-head-to-knee-pose_4
    If I ever conquer this, I should get tenure. I realize this has nothing to do with academia, but I still should get tenure for this.

And much much more!

Anyway, when I was done with this 60-minute session, I actually felt great. Even better: I felt like I could eat and drink whatever I wanted. Now, there is a catch: after a yoga class I’ve found that what I physically want to eat and drink is different from what I mentally want to eat and drink. I thought I’d just go for a heavy alfredo and massive amounts of red wine (it’d been a long week to boot). But physically, that didn’t sound good at all.

So this was somewhat of a compromise. Typically, potato salad would be considered very heavy. But this really isn’t. I mean, there’s no getting around the fact that potatoes are heavy. But with the mint (which I had leftover from a tomato/cucumber salad) and the peas and the vinegar, this feels a helluva lot healthier and lighter.

Anyway, this isn’t too bad to make. It also keeps well. Enjoy!

POTATO SALAD WITH MINT DRESSING

INGREDIENTS:

  • Potatoes
  • Eggs (I used half a dozen)
  • Peas
  • Pine nuts
  • Garlic
  • Olive oil
  • White balsamic vinegar
  • Mint
  • Salt and pepper
  • Parmesan

INSTRUCTIONS:

  1. Boil the potatoes and the eggs to your liking (I like my eggs soft, as will be seen later).
    20160915_165231
  2. While things are boiling, prepare the dressing. To that end, place all other ingredients (except for the peas) in a blender.

    Obviously, pre-blending.
    Obviously, pre-blending.
  3. Peel the eggs, add the peas. Cut the potatoes while they’re still warm (as warm as you can handle them). Toss in the sauce and serve.
    If you soft-boil, then you won't need as much sauce.
    If you soft-boil, then you won’t need as much sauce.

    20160915_174240

Leave a Reply

