Flammkuchen

Someone should write (or someone should recommend to me) a book on the history of fusion cuisine specifically as it relates to invasions and colonizations. The classic example (in my mind at least) is banh mi: the culinary love child of Vietnam and France. French bread with Asian vegetables–who wouldn’t love that?!

I have a sneaking suspicion flammkuchen is in a similar boat. From what I can learn, it is a dish from southern Germany. It includes many French ingredients. And it didn’t really become known as a “thing” until the 1950s. I know what guess I want to make about the creation of the dish. And even if I’m wrong, I’m probably on the right track; you know this is a result of someone invading someone else sometime.

Anyway, I have personal reasons to want to explore German/Dutch food. These cuisines have honestly never been my favorite. But, I’m going to give it a go–why not? I figured since one of my favorite cuisines is pizza, this would be a reasonable starting point.

This dish is amazing. Perhaps a little pricey (at least in this country) due to the dairy products, but still really good. Highly recommend it.

FLAMMKUCHEN

INGREDIENTS:

  • Pizza dough
  • Flour for dusting/rolling out dough
  • Pam, or similar substance
  • White onion
  • Bacon
  • Olive oil
  • Salt and pepper
  • Nutmeg
  • Creme fraiche
  • Gruyere, shredded
  • Chives

INSTRUCTIONS:

  1. Preheat the oven to 400*F. Roll out your pizza dough using flour and place on a Pam-sprayed pizza pan.
  2. Slice the white onion, chop the bacon, and cook down in a pan with a dash of olive oil. When the bacon is mostly cooked and the onions have wilted (do NOT caramelize them!), set to the side.
    20160531_162206
  3. Smear a layer of creme fraiche on the bottom of the pizza. Season with salt, pepper, and nutmeg.
    20160531_165816
  4. Add the bacon/onion mixture. Top with gruyere and chives.
    20160531_170103
  5. Cook until done, approximately 10-15 minutes (for me, it was closer to 15).
    20160531_171445
3 thoughts on “Flammkuchen

  1. seems to me that fusion foods were originally either cross border sharing, like choucrute garni, or as you suggest the result of force or aggression. somewhere and when there came immigration and assimilation,often a result of force or aggression. take for example the quiche Lorraine pizza. thanks for keeping me thinking about maths and foods.

  2. From a German colleague of mine regarding the history of this dish:
    “Flammkuchen is NOT pizza (and to my knowledge, the original recipe does not contain cheese, but that might just as well be a regional thing)….It originates (to my knowledge) from Alsace-Lorraine, a region that was German and French throughout the 19th century (not simultaneously, though) and has belonged to France since the end of WWI (barring the time of German occupation of France during WWII), although there is, I think, still a very small German speaking community there. So here I guess it is the region of origin of the dish that is “fusion”. One theory about the origin of Flammkuchen is that in bakeries, when the bread for the day was made, the oven was still kind of hot and sometimes there was leftover dough, so some of the bakeries started selling these flat pies with relatively common and cheap toppings (crème fraîche, fried onions and bacon, seasoned with a little salt and pepper). Nowadays you also find fancier toppings (which go more in the direction of pizza if you ask me, but no one asks me).”

Leave a Reply

