Hashbrown Muffins

I was really torn on calling these hash-tins or muff-browns, but then I realized both of those options sounded absolutely terrible…

It seems at times like I’m becoming fancier with my cooking as I get older. In actuality I’m becoming lazier. I’m also becoming cheaper (or rather, I’m TRYING to become cheaper). This recipe came out of the following set of hazardous conditions:

  • I had roasted potatoes for Easter…two weeks prior. The smallest quantity of potatoes I could buy was a five pound bag. I did not roast five pounds on Easter.
  • I had been out of town, and went straight to the grocery store on my way back into town. I forgot I already had eggs, accidentally bought 18 more, and now had 30.
  • As always, I wanted to eat in a more health-conscious way, which meant I wanted to cook more for myself and quit eating out when I didn’t have to.
  • As always, I wanted to become more budget friendly, which meant I wanted to quit eating at coffee shops.

And there you have it. A recipe was born.

I have a sneaking suspicion I will make variations on this theme. I could see this being mixed with crab/salmon for a really weird twist on eggs benedict for the Feast of Seven Fishes. Calling that one now. I can see adding cheeses, adding different meats and veggies; basically doing whatever I want. This is simple, fast, and cheap. And I don’t think it’s that UNhealthy either. So, we’ll call this an ultimate win.

HASHBROWN MUFFINS

INGREDIENTS:

  • Potatoes
  • Eggs
  • Salt and pepper
  • Habanero sauce (or tabasco, or something along those lines)
  • Tomatoes
  • Bacon
  • Corn
  • Pam, or similar substance

INSTRUCTIONS:

  1. Preheat the oven to 400*F. Spray a muffin tin with Pam, or similar substance.
  2. Using a box grater, shred the potatoes and place them in a bowl. Season liberally with salt and pepper. (You probably are seeing 1-1.5 pounds of potato)
    20160404_153828
  3. Cook the bacon to your liking, and chop into bite-sized pieces. Add to the potatoes, along with the corn and chopped tomatoes.
  4. Seasons the whole thing again with salt and pepper, adding habanero sauce while you’re at it. Last, beat a few eggs into the whole mixture (I used 3 eggs for this experiment).
    20160404_154930
  5. Scoop into muffin tins, and bake for 20-25 minutes, or until the eggs have set and the potatoes start to brown.
    20160404_155709
One thought on “Hashbrown Muffins

Leave a Reply

