Eggplant and Chickpea Hash

I never had eggplant as a kid, but I love it now. And I have to say, if it weren’t for a particular ex of mine, I probably would not have had eggplant at all. He was all about me cooking for us; but he was a picky eater on an odd end of the spectrum. He all but insisted that our dinners feature two veggies of different colors. Retrospectively, that should have been a sign. But depending upon your interpretation, this forced me to become lazy/creative. I started buying eggplant because it could basically never be a color repeat.

The first time I ever cooked it was in this dish (also one of my first blog posts); I literally rubbed olive oil on an eggplant, put it in a Dutch oven on high heat, and left it on for like an hour. Such a nube was I. The purple monsters seemed practically indestructible. I frequently would just roast them for 30-60 minutes and proceed from there. I also used to skin them, but I quickly found that to be a royal pain and stopped pretty much as soon as I started.

But I have to say, prior to this recipe, I’d never cooked eggplant in a skillet/pan. What shocked me was how QUICK the cook time was. Easily this is the fastest way to cook eggplant I have come across. And this dish was hearty, and tasty, and reheated well. So, this may be my new go-to for les aubergines.

EGGPLANT AND CHICKPEA HASH

INGREDIENTS:

  • Eggplant
  • Cherry/grape tomatoes
  • Chickpeas (if canned, drain them first)
  • Onion
  • Salt and pepper
  • Olive oil
  • Garlic powder
  • Water
  • Red pepper flakes

INSTRUCTIONS:

  1. Place some olive oil in a pan, and when it’s hot start cooking the eggplant. Season with salt and pepper.
    20160313_190447
  2. Add the tomatoes and onion. Season again with salt and pepper. Add garlic powder.
    20160313_191143
  3. When that has cooked, mash it slightly. If it seems too dry, add a dash of water. When you’re close to serving add the chickpeas until the whole dish is warm.
    20160313_191554
  4. As you serve, add some red pepper flakes.

    20160313_191726
    Served with pork.
2 thoughts on “Eggplant and Chickpea Hash

Leave a Reply

