Za’atar rubbed pork chops

20160313_191726
The end product–the mash will be a separate post.

This spring break was amazing. In part, because I could (semi) relax. Because I have a job–technically two jobs (one full-time tenure track and one part-time contract). And while I’m going to miss the students and some of the people in the Big Rock Candy Mountain, I am definitely ready to leave this town and its lack of privacy and abundance of petty politics.

Anyway, when I was visiting Atlanta I finally went to Your DeKalb Farmer’s Market–which has great deals and steals on spices, wine and coffee (three staples in TTENG’s house). The spices were definitely cheap, and I took advantage. I’ve been wanting/hoping/waiting to experiment with Indian/Middle-Eastern cuisines, and prior to this place I was sure I’d have to cash in my retirement to get some of the ingredients. But, not if I shop at Your DeKalb. Example: I got a quarter of a POUND of cardamon for under $3. Another spice I acquired was za’atar–which technically is a combination of spices and seeds (many in the family of thyme and oregano, along with sesame seeds).

So now that I’m back in the Big Rock Candy Mountain (where like my students I’m fighting senioritis and counting the days until I leave) I’ve decided to have some fun and experiment with new foods. I wanted to start slow and in such a way that I simultaneously would be getting used to these new tastes and wouldn’t be able to screw things up. Hence, the za’atar-rubbed pork chop.

This honestly is one of my better dishes in a LONG time. The pork was succulent, and the spices did not overpower; if anything, the spices made the pork taste BETTER. Very interesting dish, very simple, and very tasty. Make it. Now.

ZA’ATAR RUBBED PORK CHOPS

INGREDIENTS:

  • Pork chops (I got boneless, because they were on sale)
  • Salt and pepper
  • Olive oil
  • Za’atar

INSTRUCTIONS:

  1. Rub the pork chops in olive oil. Season then with salt, pepper and za’atar.
    20160313_184315
  2. Grill until done.
    20160313_190100
Leave a Reply

