Ricotta and Chocolate Roses

I am an artist. My medium is puff pastry. Seriously.

Okay, so I’m only semi-serious. I have gone through various phases with this ingredient. I started with the raspberry bites I had intended to make for my thesis defense (I got a little busy and ended up getting David’s Cookies…not too bad as a backup). I then entered a more savory phase where puff pastry was featured in the feast of seven fishes (for a salmon braid), and as a base for mini veggie tarts. Most recently, I started experimenting with shapes going for a semi-savory pinwheel.

And now, here we are. Close to (the dreaded? the much-beloved?) Valentine’s Day. And who doesn’t love chocolate and roses with their VD? So now I’m returning to the dessert roots and continuing to experiment with shapes; this is the result.

Honestly, I was not thinking of Valentine’s Day at all when I made this. I was thinking of the Superbowl, and being possibly invited to a party with a bunch of coworkers and my boss, etc. I am the unofficial cook of the department, and especially with these coworkers I feel the need to always be “on point”, if you know what I mean. This was a dry-run of my dessert attempt. Honestly, I think I need to work on the consistency–the roses are a little…soft. There will probably be more roses in TTENG’s future–it does look pretty bad ass, if nothing else.

RICOTTA AND CHOCOLATE ROSES

INGREDIENTS:

  • Puff pastry, plus flour for rolling out
  • Pam, or similar substance
  • Sugar
  • Ricotta (whole milk)
  • Vanilla extract
  • Chocolate chips
  • Blackberries

INSTRUCTIONS:

  1. Preheat your oven to 400*F. Spray a muffin tin well with Pam.
  2. In a small bowl, mix the ricotta, sugar, vanilla extract and chocolate chips.
    20160131_123413
  3. Roll out the puff pastry, using flour. Cut into long strips. Smear a layer of the ricotta mixture along the strip.
  4. Place a blackberry at the bottom of the strip. Gently roll it up (don’t make it too tight of a roll).

    20160131_124554
    Like I said…I have room for improvement on this.
  5. Bake in the muffin tin for approximately 20 minutes, or until golden. Note that due to your folds, the center of your “rose” is now a blackberry.
    20160131_131101
Leave a Reply

