Blackberry Almond Coffee Cake

20151126_072631Believe it or not, most of the pictures for the food posts come from my first time making the recipe. This means, among other things, that I have a lot of pictures on my phone of step-by-step awesomeness ending with a final shot of epic failure. What you see before you, however, are the shots from the SECOND time I made this cake. What went wrong the first time? I forgot flour. That’s right: I made a cake without flour. And it wasn’t meant to be a torte, or anything gluten free. This thought of, “Hrm…something’s missing” did not hit me when I was spooning the batter and there clearly wasn’t enough; it did not hit me when after an hour in the oven the concoction had not risen. It hit me when in putting away the ingredients (oh, it gets worse: I HAD THE FLOUR ON THE COUNTER THE WHOLE TIME) I saw that the flour was not opened. Oops?

I was so mad at myself when I made this realization. In part, because I had spent so much money on the flour for this cake (not only did I use the usual stuff, but I also had bought almond flour for the first time. Ka-ching). I think another part was I just get frustrated in general when I embody the absent-minded professor (I realize as a professor I have every right to become an absent-minded one; however, I would like to rise above the stereotypes).

Made this cake while home for the holidays, i.e., in the house where no one bakes. I told my mother that this would be quick: batter, filling, batter, crumble. She seemed scared–those four words indicated way too many steps. So maybe this isn’t something a “new” baker would want to attack. Honestly, I don’t think it’s THAT bad. I also made it in a springform so you could have that ethereal “aaaaahhhh” moment when the sides pop off.

BLACKBERRY ALMOND COFFEE CAKE

INGREDIENTS:

  • 1.5 sticks butter
  • Brown sugar
  • White sugar
  • Water
  • Cornstarch
  • Blackberries
  • Almonds
  • 2 eggs
  • Baking soda
  • Flour (at least 1.5 cups)
  • .5 cups almond flour
  • Small tub of Greek yogurt
  • Vanilla extract

INSTRUCTIONS:

  1. Preheat the oven to 350*F. Grease and lightly flour the cake pan you’re using.
  2. On the cooktop, cook the berries in what essentially is simple syrup. That is, equal parts water and sugar (I did not use that much–hate sweet stuff). To thicken, add a few tablespoons of corn starch. Set to the side to cool.
    The beginning
    The beginning

    The end
    The end
  3. Take one stick of butter, the eggs, vanilla extract, baking powder, and about .5-1 cup sugar and whip in a bowl. Add the two types of flour one half-cup at a time (no more than 2 cups total), as well as the small tub of Greek yogurt.
    20151125_154130
  4. In yet another bowl, melt the remaining half stick of butter. Add about equal parts brown sugar and flour.
    20151125_152625
  5. Layer time: take half of the mixture from step 3 and place it in your cake pan. Top that with the blackberry mixture from step 2. Top with the rest of the step 3 mixture. Before placing in the oven, place the mixture from step 4 on top, and sprinkle with almonds.
    Half-way there
    Half-way there

    Pre-oven
    Pre-oven
  6. Bake for 60-75 minutes. Let the cake cool completely before serving.
    20151126_072625
3 thoughts on “Blackberry Almond Coffee Cake

Leave a Reply

