Soundtrack to October

The theme of this month was lack of control. Over 70 job applications done and it’s basically just a waiting game now. Patience is not my virtue. I’m still missing a letter (arguably the most important letter); I am justifiably angry about this, and hurt, and there have been a lot of phone calls and emails and tears, but there’s nothing I can do about it (actually, no one but the letter writer can do anything about it). I’ve had multiple colleagues in my field and/or at my current institution ask why I’m even applying for jobs–can’t my current contract just be extended? No, and I can’t do anything about that either. I’d love to stay. A part of me still hopes I can stay. I know I can do a good job here. But hope, and love, and ability don’t create a tenure-track. As for romance, that too is beyond my control. Yet, unlike the job situation my complete lack of power doesn’t bother me (probably comes from experience. I’m currently applying for my second job. I am not that naive romantically). I’ve accepted I can’t really control who I like, even when my head screams, “seriously?!”. But (to quote the penultimate chick flick)…I’d rather have thirty minutes of wonderful than a lifetime of nothing special.

Same rules. I’ve probably started repeating (great) songs from earlier months, but…who cares? I don’t.

  1. Since I’ve Been Loving You, Corinne Bailey Rae
  2. She, Green Day
  3. Down in the Valley, the Head and the Heart
  4. California (Cast Iron Soul), Jamestown Revival
  5. Cathedrals, Jump Little Children
  6. If You Call, Sharon Jones & the Dap Kings
  7. Cloudline, Joseph
  8. Something Better Beginning, the Kinks
  9. Hallelujah, Espen Lind etal
  10. Head on, Man Man
  11. Creep, Carrie Manolakos
  12. Blonde on Blonde, Nada Surf
  13. Closer, Nine Inch Nails
  14. Come as You Are, Nirvana
  15. Chandelier, Sia
  16. Synthesizers, Butch Walker
  17. Say You Love Me, Jessie Ware
  18. Love Interruption, Jack White
  19. Wake Up Alone, Amy Winehouse
Leave a Reply

