Soundtrack to September

I have always thought hope was an evil (I mean, in one very famous story, it’s literally contained in a box of evils). So I’m remarkably disappointed in myself to realize that I hope a LOT. I hope I find a job; specifically, I hope I find a tenure-track job at a liberal arts college where the kids are spunky and smart and where the faculty is eclectic. The jury is still out on whether or not I will be able to find that. I hope I find someone; someone who makes me laugh and think and who simultaneously challenges and supports me. I’ve mentioned before on this blog, on the rare occasions I get close to finding such a someone, I then have my profession and/or its associated (moving/traveling/daily) schedule throw a wrench in things. I hope I can find time to relax, to go on vacation, or to maybe spend an entire month not traveling for work–hell, I’d even love to join a book club. In my dreams.

Hope is exhausting. You continuously have to delude yourself into believing. Even if all proof points in the opposite direction, you have to believe there is still a chance.

I’m breaking a lot of mixtape rules. Repeating artists. Specifically saying which songs REALLY speak to me this month (see (**)). Not waiting until the end of the month. But guess what? It’s my blog and it is one of the few things in my life over which I have complete control. Click the link for the youtube video.

  1. (**)Divisionary (Do The Right Thing), Ages and Ages
  2. (**)Criminal, Fiona Apple
  3. You Can’t Save Them All, Big Harp
  4. Sugah Daddy, D’Angelo
  5. Sol Ja Camba, Fantcha
  6. (**)Lord Remember Me, Ruthie Foster
  7. Your Song, Ellie Goulding
  8. (**) Angel of Small Death and the Codeine Scene, Hozier
  9. All the Times We Had, Ivan and Aloysha
  10. You Don’t Know What Love Is, Lea DeLaria
  11. Boondocks, Little Big Town
  12. Fandango de Huelva y Verdiales, Carlos Montoya
  13. (**) Many Shades of Black, the Raconteurs
  14. (**)Heaven Knows I’m Miserable Now, the Smiths
  15. (**) Please Please Please Let Me Get What I Want, the Smiths
  16. Last Nite, the Strokes
Leave a Reply

