Clafoutis

The beginning of a school year is kinda like New Years Day. It’s a time to restart, to resolve, to (try to) change, to do something new. Lord knows I’m going to need to do something new this year. Once again, I’m on the academic job market. I know…it’s only been one year since I moved to the Big Rock Candy Mountain, but this is the reality of short-term, non-renewable contracts. The last time I was on the market, to say I was stressed probably would be an understatement. Which honestly makes me petrified for this year. Why? Well, at least last time I was not teaching (this time I have four new preps), and at least last time I was surrounded by friends and family who were remarkably supportive (and now I’m hundreds of miles away from that network).

So I’m going to have to take a lot of deep breaths. I’m going to have to make sure that I find healthy stress-relieving outlets. I’m going to have to find ways to calm myself.

I started last week while at Reagan in DC. I wasn’t feeling well. Twenty minutes after the plane had boarded, we all had to de-board for an unknown reason. At first we were told the flight was cancelled; then we were told it was just delayed for three hours. Sounds stressful, right? So, to calm myself, I decided to spend a ridiculous amount of money on something I didn’t need; in an attempt to be healthy, instead of buying a scotch I bought a Food and Wine magazine.

Good life decision.

They had a series of recipes all featuring the apricot, a fruit which I have only had in preserve form and only on pizzas and sandwiches. I was mesmerized by the recipe for clafoutis. For those who do not know what that is, it’s basically a custard with a single type of fruit on top (though typically that fruit is a form of cherry). This is my new favorite thing. Since finally getting off the plane (and NOT in DC!), I have made this THREE TIMES. That’s right. Three times. One week. Once featuring apricots. Once featuring blackberries. And most recently featuring raspberries.

This is stupid simple. Seriously. Everyone should learn how to make these. I can attest that they keep well (not that they keep long…it will be inhaled). I’ve had them with ice cream or whipped cream as a dessert. I’ve had them plain for breakfast. They are amazing. Make. This. Now.

You’re welcome.

(APRICOT) CLAFOUTIS

INGREDIENTS:

  • Pam, or similar substance
  • Three eggs
  • 1/2 cup 1/2 and 1/2
  • 1/2 cup sugar
  • 2-4 tablespoons flour
  • Options:
    • Apricots
    • Blackberries and vanilla extract
    • Raspberries and vanilla extract

INSTRUCTIONS:

  1. Preheat the oven to 350*F.
  2. Grease a relatively shallow pan which has a large surface area (this is going to be very thin–spread it out!)
  3. Mix the eggs, 1/2 and 1/2, and sugar together in a bowl.
    20150812_095115
  4. Add a few tablespoons of flour and (if you so choose) the vanilla extract.
    20150812_095629
  5. Pour into the greased pan. Top with the fruit of your choice.

    Apricot edition
    Apricot edition
  6. Bake for 20-25 minutes, or until the eggs have cooked and the edges have become golden brown. Once cooled, serve it up!
    Apricot edition
    Apricot edition

    Raspberry edition
    Raspberry edition
3 thoughts on “Clafoutis

Leave a Reply

