Soundtrack to July

Once again, it’s been a busy month. I managed to get undergrads excited about research; arguably more importantly, I managed to get undergrads successful at research. There’s been only 300 miles of road trips making it a relatively tame month on that front. There was the birthday of a summer roommate; there was my own birthday (which of course, being a female approaching 30, was a special circle of hell). My private/personal life is still laughable and I’m convinced I will always be a masochist on that front. There was a lot of emotional drama and intellectual growing pains with respect to my career. Speaking of which…I am preparing to enter the academic job market AGAIN. So…you know…things are winding down…

Same rules apply as always.

  1. Only Ones Who Know, Arctic Monkeys
  2. Young and Dumb, the bird and the bee
  3. Please Don’t Scream, Nataly Dawn
  4. Black is the Color of My True Love’s Hair, Lauryn Hill
  5. This is How It Feels, Inspiral Carpets
  6. All I Wanna Do, Jamie Lidell
  7. She, the Monkees
  8. The Morning After, Meg Myers
  9. Nothing Compares 2 U, Sinead O’Connor
  10. Closure, Jill Scott
  11. Ayoye, Martha Wainwright
  12. Silent Movies, Madisen Ward and the Mama Bear
  13. Blue Indian, Widespread Panic
  14. Too Dry to Cry, Willis Earl Beal
