A Musical Pizza

In my previous life (i.e., until I was nineteen) I was a competitive classical pianist. For those completely unaware, many piano competitions work as follows: all of western music is divided into time periods. You play a piece from each time period. You’re always guaranteed to have “Baroque”, “Classical”, “Romantic” and “Modern”. Occasionally, you’ll also see “Impressionistic”.

My weakest was always “Impressionistic”. This is the era dominated by Debussy and Ravel. It wasn’t my weakest because it was the most technically difficult; it was my weakest because I absolutely HATE that music. A lot of these works are meant to evoke the sense of “sunrise” or “moonlight” or “waking up from a dream” and that’s all well and good but who wants to hear that for 6-10 minutes over and over again?! There is no beat. There are no strong melodies. In fact, strong is the LAST word you use to describe this music. Everything is calm and smooth and blurry and unilateral.

Now how this relates to food. The folks and I had some people over for our regular Friday night pizza. Among them was one of our closest family friends (who wanted, and now I suppose is getting, a shout-out on the blog). I made a new pizza, whose recipe you will see below. Overall, it was a crowd hit; but the family friend didn’t like it. And in giving his critique, he not only made his point clear but he also gave me quite the low blow.

He told me I had made the Debussy of pizza.

I knew exactly what that meant. Everything blended nicely but no one taste or ingredient stood out–and he so wanted something to stand out. I culinary had put him to sleep. But you know…a lot of people like Debussy, so we’re typing up the recipe.

Two final notes (pun intended) before proceeding:

(1) When I was competing, I did finally find an impressionistic piece I could stand–which I really needed whenever I got that category. So, click here to hear “good” Debussy (the ending is phenomenal).

(2) The same family friend likened my parents’ pizza to Stravinsky. It was comparatively hot and risque; however, for those unaccustomed to spice, like Stravinsky, it created quite the stir the next day. =p

DEBUSSY PIZZA

INGREDIENTS:

INSTRUCTIONS:

  1. Preheat oven to 400*F. Roll out pizza dough, using flour.
  2. Layer as follows
    1. Strawberry preserves
      20150529_184059
    2. Spinach
    3. Caramelized onions
      20150529_185747
    4. Prosciutto
    5. Brie
      20150529_190158
  3. Bake for 15-20 minutes, or until the brie has melted and started to brown.
    20150529_192320
One thought on “A Musical Pizza

Leave a Reply

