The Leaning Tower of Veggies

I need to eat more salads and veggies. Part of that is a New Years blogging challenge. Part of it is that I really just need to eat more healthy meals in general. Part of it…well, while I’m far from your typical female, I am very much a girl in the following way:

I really want to win a breakup.

I get that this is childish. Doesn’t mean it isn’t happening.

How did this come about?

Starts with a wedding. The people who will be there are more “family” to me than most of my blood relations. I cannot imagine a holiday or major life event without them.

Oh, and one of my exes will be there too.

I was SO into this guy. Seriously fell fast and hard. He didn’t want long distance, but when we dated we lived 70 miles apart. He wanted us to meet each other’s friends, but didn’t want to be seen in front of the “family” that set us up (and now has invited us to this wedding). Even after we broke up…I tried. I did. But he was being cruel and manipulative, and every time we spoke I wanted to go on a bender or take a shower.

Don’t worry: there will be no scene. This day is not about him or me. But you can bet your sweet ass I’m going to make sure that I look GOOD. I’m wearing a gorgeous dress that I haven’t worn since I was 18. At this moment it fits, but it’s gonna fit FLAWLESSLY come wedding day. Because even if it’s only for a minute, I want him to think, “I made a huge mistake.” It’d be icing on my cake if others looked at me in passing and said, “Wow, he made a huge mistake.” But most importantly, I want to be able to walk in front of him and think, “Thank God I didn’t make a mistake.”

LEANING TOWER OF VEGGIES

INGREDIENTS:

  • Eggplant
  • Zucchini
  • Tomatoes
  • Fresh mozzarella
  • Salt and pepper
  • Olive Oil
  • Balsamic Vinegar

INSTRUCTIONS:

  1. Preheat your oven to 425*F.
  2. Slice the eggplant and the zucchini. Season with salt and pepper, and place on a baking tray.
    20150503_171605
  3. Cook for 25-30 minutes, or until soft, warm, and cooked through.
  4. Slice the tomato and the cheese. Layer as much as you can: eggplant, zucchini, tomato, cheese.
    20150503_17513220150503_175245
  5. Drizzle with olive oil and balsamic.
    20150503_175557
2 thoughts on “The Leaning Tower of Veggies

Leave a Reply

