Goat Cheese Cake

20150405_201646

Do you ever feel like no matter what you do, it’s just not the right thing to do? That no matter how hard you try that you just don’t fit in? That while you’re probably over-reacting, you can’t help but overanalyze every little thing you say or every little thing that is said to you?

Yeah…that’s been my life lately.

Consequently, when I had an Easter break (honestly, for the first time in my academic LIFE), I just had to go home. And–of course, add it to the list of signs–the drive was exceptionally bad. It took me over five hours to go 249 miles (not that I ever have counted). As all but 4 of those miles were highway I know my average speed was less than the minimum speed on the roads in question. There was rain. There were wrecks. There was construction. There were cops.

But I made it. And it was wonderful.

Easter has never been that big of a day for my family; we really are not that religious. We do have lamb every year–that’s non-negotiable. As I’ve become more into cooking (and specifically not anti-baking) I’ve taken over desserts. I wanted something not sweet, as my father and I hate sweets. I wanted something simple, as my parents’ kitchen was only 85% done at that point. I wanted something that said “spring” and “lamb”.

This dessert is amazingly simple. It’s rich like a New York style cheesecake, but it’s texturally much lighter (not quite like angel food cake, but closer to that than anything else I can think of). If you can get your goat cheese at Costco or at Trader Joe’s, it’s also not that expensive. One piece of advice: don’t go electric in whipping the egg whites.

GOAT CHEESE CAKE

INGREDIENTS:

  • Large log of goat cheese–at room temperature
  • Six eggs, separated
  • Vanilla extract
  • .75-1 cup sugar
  • 2 tablespoons flour
  • Pam, or similar substance
  • One lemon

INSTRUCTIONS:

  1. Preheat the oven to 350*F. Take a cake pan, spray it with Pam and sprinkle it with sugar.
  2. In a bowl, whip the goat cheese, the rest of the sugar, and the vanilla extract.
    20150405_120730
  3. Add the egg yolks a few at a time to the cheese mixture. Add the juice and zest of one lemon, as well as 1-2 tablespoons flour.
    20150405_121520
  4. Whip the whites. You do NOT want them to be stiff (no flipping of the bowl test), but you want them to be not watery. Fold the whites in to the cheese/yolk mixture.
  5. Pour into the cake pan, bake for approximately 30 minutes (or until the cake passes the toothpick/knife test), and serve with whipped cream or chocolate or fruit or whatever you want.
    Pre oven
    Pre oven

    Post oven
    Post oven
One thought on “Goat Cheese Cake

Leave a Reply

