Bagel Pizza

It is no surprise that I am a foodie; I lived a culinarily sheltered life. Junk and fast food were as highly endorsed in my home as dancing was by the town in Footloose. My mother brags about how she was raked over the coals by other parents when it was discovered that as an eight-year-old I had no clue what an M&M was. In undergrad, my friends would go into hysterics in Taco Bell or Arby’s watching me try to figure out “picture menus on walls” (which I still find highly confusing).

So here’s how this all relates to bagel pizzas. I decided to break in our new family kitchen by making a new pizza. When my mother was headed to the grocery store and asked what I needed for this, I told her my intention was to do a reverse bagel bite…at which point I had to explain to my mother what a “bagel bite” was [by the way, singing the jingle from the 1980s didn’t help].

Anyway, this is a VERY rich pizza. If/when I make this again, I will definitely use MUCH less cream cheese (I used a whole package. Maybe cut that in half.). But it’s tasty. And the best part? You can have it in the mornin’…in the evenin’….at suppertime….when it’s bagel on a pizza you can have bagel anytime! =)

BAGEL PIZZA

INGREDIENTS:

  • Dough, flour for dusting, and Pam or similar substance
  • Cream cheese
  • Dill
  • Red onion
  • Shredded mozzarella
  • Avocado
  • Lox

INSTRUCTIONS:

  1. Preheat the oven to 400*. Roll out your dough and place it on a Pam-sprayed surface.
  2. Mix the dill into the cream cheese, and spread a thin layer at the bottom of the pizza.

    Note: You want to use about half this amount of cream cheese and dill.
    Note: You want to use about half this amount of cream cheese and dill.
  3. Next, chop the red onion very finely, and place with shredded mozzarella on top of the cream cheese mixture.
    20150403_170928
  4. Cook the pizza for about 10 minutes, or until the crust and cheeses are starting to brown.
    20150403_172956
  5. Upon removal, place sliced avocado and lox on top. Sprinkle a little more mozzarella on top, and place back in the oven for at most 5 minutes (you want the cheese to melt and the lox and avocado to warm; however, you do not want to cook the fish any more).
    20150403_173754
  6. Enjoy!
    20150403_174658
One thought on “Bagel Pizza

  1. i like this idea but when i read the title thought you were actually going to do the whole bagel thing with the crust–you know, boil it before baking it to give it a bagel like texture. you might try not heating the lox and having it at room temp then just sort of raping it on top like you might do with prosciutto on a hot app. either way sounds great!

Leave a Reply

