Banana Almond Butter Muffins

20150315_122508
And now we have another installment in my series on attempting to save money and slowly put coffee shops out of business.

I must say that this is 100% a product of laziness. Muffins were the last thing I intended to make this week. My original goal was to make smoothies–even bought the yogurt. But since becoming a professor I’ve never lived more like a student. I literally roll out of bed as late as humanly possible, get dressed in the dark, and walk out of the house. Every. Single. Day. I rarely grab breakfast (hence, why I spend so much money in coffee shops). Putting together a smoothie realistically is never going to happen. My next thought was to make scones. I’m actually very intrigued by scones–particularly the idea of savory ones (sure, the banana isn’t savory, but the almond butter’s close(r)). And I have in stock all the basic ingredients. But again, laziness comes in. It’s my mixer. That’s right. A hand mixer kept me from my culinary dreams. Gets better: it’s not that the mixer is broken. Quite the opposite–it’s a very expensive, very nice, fully functioning hand mixer. But it’s rabid. There is no “slow” speed. You put it on “1” and–I don’t care how careful you are or what it is you’re actually trying to mix–you’re going to have to clean the ceiling. As an experiment I tried just seeing what the highest setting did and I swear I smelled smoke. So, I wasn’t feeling electronics.

Hence muffins. No technology (beyond the oven) is necessary. You can grab them in the dark…or so I hope. This is about as simple as it gets. Enjoy, and here’s to less lazy future posts!

BANANA ALMOND BUTTER MUFFINS

INGREDIENTS:

  • 3 bananas
  • 1 egg
  • Almond butter
  • Baking powder
  • Baking soda
  • Salt
  • Sugar
  • All purpose flour
  • Chocolate chips (optional)

INSTRUCTIONS:

  1. Preheat the oven to 350*F. Either line your muffin tin with little paper food doilies or spray it with Pam.
  2. In a large bowl, smash the bananas.

    I don't know if I've actually ever used the meat tenderizer on meat...
    I don’t know if I’ve actually ever used the meat tenderizer on meat…
  3. Add the egg and almond butter. Keep smashing.
    20150315_114456
  4. Add the powder, soda, and salt.
  5. Stir in between .5 and 1 cups sugar.
    20150315_114820
  6. Stir in half a cup of flour at a time for a total of no more than 1.5 cups flour.
  7. (Optional) Add the chocolate chips.
    20150315_115719
  8. Pour into the muffin tin and bake for 20-25 minutes, or until done.
    20150315_122355
2 thoughts on “Banana Almond Butter Muffins

  1. why do you need a mixer for scones? I’ve always made the dough just like biscuit dough–cut in the fat by hand. mix in liquids VERY gently. pat round. cut wedges. bake.

Leave a Reply

