Blackberry Chocolate Muffins

20150208_141421

Right, so I realize I missed Valentine’s Day. I had a post prepared. I thought it was pretty awesome. Still is under my “drafts”. Without even reading it, my mother flipped out–telling me I was going to ruin my career (so many retorts to THAT claim). Lucky for all of us, I guess; my Valentine’s Day was packed. No time for last minute polishing, proofing, and submitting.

On a semi-related note, I’m spending more money than my current career allows in coffee shops. It helps if you’re like me and are actually capable of drinking straight up, regular coffee–it’s by far the cheapest drink at a coffee shop. You’re less likely to die from caramel-mocha-frappa-latte-diabetes. You also sound like you’re not just “playing grown up”–this is the caffeine equivalent of someone ordering a martini that looks like a mint chocolate chip milkshake and tastes nothing like a martini. But I digress. It also helps if you can group business and pleasure–both the students and the baristas love that I’m having office hours in a coffee house this semester. For some reason, having “office hours” practically anywhere but your actual office is the way to go. And the local coffee house gets more business, which only helps everyone. But I still need to cut back on this type of spending.

We’ll start slow. Like…with breakfast. Any food item at a coffee shop is going to cost you at LEAST as much as a cup of regular coffee. That’s $2.40 plus tax and tip minimum. Over the course of a month that’s at least a water bill, and depending–maybe even a gas bill too.

And most people have the majority of muffin ingredients just lying around. The bulk of the recipe is sugar, flour, butter, eggs, and “some milk-based liquid” (either actual milk, or half and half. Guess which I have at all times?). Makes it hard to calculate the price-per-muffin, but I’m going to go with “pretty cheap”–realistically, I’ll guess half of what you’d spend at a coffee shop.

So, here’s a quick and dirty breakfast: blackberry and (white) chocolate chip muffins. Enjoy!

BLACKBERRY CHOCOLATE CHIP MUFFINS

INGREDIENTS:

  • Stick of butter
  • Flour
  • Sugar
  • Vanilla extract
  • Two eggs
  • Half and half, or whole milk
  • Baking powder
  • Blackberries
  • Chocolate chips

INSTRUCTIONS:

  1. Take a stick of butter (softened), about a cup of sugar, and some vanilla extract and whip it in a bowl.
    20150208_131933
  2. Add the two eggs and continue to beat.
    20150208_132701
  3. Add 1/3-1/2 cup of flour at a time, balancing with half-and-half or milk. Continue until you’ve added at least one full cup of flour, at most 1.5 cups flour.
    20150208_133010
  4. Fold in the blackberries and white chocolate chips.
    20150208_133301
  5. Spoon into a greased muffin tin. Bake in a preheated 375*F oven for 15-20 minutes, or until golden.
    20150208_133833
Leave a Reply

