Mussels Poutine Style

Three things made this dish happen:

(1) Earlier this year, I was in Baltimore for work. While I’m not *the* biggest fan of the Charm City, I did manage to get some decent seafood. On the menu of a gastropub by my hotel, I saw a VERY intriguing dish: a seafood bake on top of French fries.

(2) As faithful readers know, I just love mussels. I’ve been curious to move beyond the typical French/white-wine/mirepoix attack, and actually thought it’d be awesome to try some kind of spicy green curry or coconut cream broth.

(3) My parents give me carte blanche to cook whatever I want whenever I’m home (it’s a mix of their sheer awesomeness and their desire to positively reinforce while simultaneously getting out of cooking and shopping duties).

The below dish definitely has potential. There’s ONE thing I’d do differently the next time I make this dish (and there will be a next time):

  • I’d make the broth thicker. I don’t think reducing the broth the mussels steam in will work–mussels need to be eaten immediately. But either having a thicker broth or a separate sauce with the same ingredients….one of those has to happen.

Enjoy!

MUSSELS WITH SPICY COCONUT BROTH

INGREDIENTS:

  • Potatoes
  • Salt
  • Pepper
  • Mussels
  • Garlic
  • White onion
  • Green onion
  • Jalapeno, or other spicy pepper
  • Coconut milk (canned)
  • Water
  • Butter
  • Cilantro

INSTRUCTIONS:

  1. Make French fries. To do that:
    1. Slice potatoes
    2. Season the slices with salt and pepper
    3. Bake until crispy

      Pre-oven fries
      Pre-oven fries
  2. After chopping the garlic, onions and jalapenos finely, start cooking them with butter in a giant pot.

    Some dicing.
    Some dicing.
  3. When the onions have started to become translucent, pour the coconut milk into the pot. Bring to a boil.
    20141125_171006
  4. Dump the mussels into the pot. Cap with water as necessary. Keep the heat high, and the lid on.
  5. In 10-15 minutes, the mussels will be done. Time this so that the fries are also done. To serve:
    1. Place some fries in the bottom of a bowl.
    2. Top with mussels and some broth.
    3. Garnish with cilantro
      20141125_172125
One thought on “Mussels Poutine Style

Leave a Reply

