The Blacker the Berry, the Sweeter the Cocktail

It finally happened. TTENG has its first cocktail! I’ve been meaning to experiment more with cocktails, bitters and the like. It’s a new food trend that honestly just fascinates me. Whether we’re talking the new or retro interpretation, cocktails are not my typical cup of tea. I’m a red wine or scotch neat kind of person. If I really want to go all girly I’ll order a dirty martini or a dark and stormy. If the drink has more than, say, three ingredients, I typically peace-out. Plus, these cocktails are expensive! You’re calling brands, using traces of liquors or bitters or rosewater or some ingredient that costs at least $3+ an ounce. Oh, and let’s not forget the garnishes and “bases” for these drinks: rinds soaked in something, bacon-infused bourbon and whiskeys, the home-made “simple syrups”, the herbs (which even for savory dishes are expensive). I get that a lot of people want to drink without actually having to taste alcohol, but some of these recipes just sound ridiculous and ridiculously pricey.

With that lovely introduction, I present my first cocktail. Should have posted it earlier–it’s more of a summer drink than an (any-other-season) drink (though it was 80*F here yesterday…). It features one of my favorite foods: blackberries. It’s quick to make, and relatively cheap. Enjoy this small sip for man, but giant gulp for TTENG. =)

THE BLACKER THE BERRY….

INGREDIENTS:

  • Fresh blackberries
  • Sugar
  • Vanilla soda (I used this stuff)
  • Vodka
  • Ice

INSTRUCTIONS:

  1. Line a glass with sugar, and crush some fresh blackberries in the bottom of said-glass.
    20140823_175418
  2. Add ice and vodka
    20140823_175520
  3. Top with vanilla soda, stir, and imbibe.
    20140823_175557
2 thoughts on “The Blacker the Berry, the Sweeter the Cocktail

Leave a Reply

