Do I Dare to Eat a Peach Tarts

Missing the good old peach state.

While the game was destined to be a blowout, I was invited by a colleague to come over and watch the UGA game this weekend (and the other SEC games). Being the good Southern-raised creature that I am, I wanted to bring something to the party. While getting my weekly groceries, I saw gorgeous peaches. Seemed highly appropriate if going to watch the Georgia game to make something with peaches. And we all know how I feel about puff pastry. The rest is history.

Notes:

  • I also made a savory version of this, which just consisted of bleu cheese and peaches. It was great, don’t get me wrong, but this one I think would be more of a definite crowd-pleaser.
  • The pictures seem out of sync. I loved this dish so much the other day, I decided to make another batch to bring to a weekly work meeting.

PEACH PUFF PASTRY SQUARES

INGREDIENTS:

  • Peaches
  • Puff pastry
  • Flour, for dusting
  • Pam, or similar substance
  • Goat cheese
  • Pepper
  • Honey

INSTRUCTIONS:

  1. Let the puff pastry and the goat cheese come to room temperature.
  2. Set the oven to 400*F.
  3. Roll out the puff pastry and cut into bite-sized squares.
    20140920_121226
  4. Smear goat cheese in the center of each square. Season with black pepper.
    20140920_121924
  5. Take thin slices of peach and top the squares.
    20140920_122058
  6. Bake for 10-20 minutes (depending upon the sizes of the squares–and this does vary that much depending on size!).

    This batch (the second) took 12 minutes of baking.
    This batch (the second) took 12 minutes of baking.
  7. When ready to serve, drizzle with honey. [Picture will be added when I remember.]
One thought on “Do I Dare to Eat a Peach Tarts

  1. I love your posts, especially your cooking stories, and you may have almost finally inspired me to blog. almost. you always remind me of combinations of ingredients I don’t often use, like pepper in sweets, that I should try some day. tonite I have friends coming for two kinds of mac and cheese, pissaladierre, locally grown crudités, and tarte de la demoiselles Tatin. I didn’t realize how French I was being…I would have made choucroute garni if I had the right ingredients.

Leave a Reply

