Apple, Caramelized Onion and Brie Pizza

It really is unsurprising that I’m such a pizza snob. One of my first memories as a child was of “Friday night pizza and a movie”. My folks would rearrange the furniture in our den to accommodate air mattresses and massive pillows. We’d order Pizza Hut and watch some VHS until we all fell asleep. It was our family time. As I got older and my social circle expanded, I still would almost tacitly make sure that any sleepovers or get-togethers or events were on Saturday and Sunday; Fridays were still “pizza and a movie”. Even the DOG knew this was serious–she’d hear my folks dialing Pizza Hut on the massive Miami Vice-era “portable phone”, recognize the numbers, and start howling at the window.

And then I started undergrad. While I commuted from home, my social structure completely changed. Among other things, I met my first serious boyfriend. In an honest attempt to be both kind and accurate, I’ll just describe him as possessive, isolating and abusive. From the time I got out of class until I drove home to sleep, I’d “have” to spend my time with him. Alone or with his roommates. In the dorms. BUT, on Fridays we would all frequently still order pizza. My family, who retrospectively were almost too patient about this whole thing, finally put their foot down; they told me I needed to be sure to make it home for our Friday night ritual. My boyfriend got VERY angry and said to my parents, “Don’t you understand Friday night pizza and a movie is sacred to us?” Surprisingly, he did not die; he also never understood the true irony of his statement.

Fast forward to grad school. I wasn’t living at home anymore, but still was only about 75 minutes away. And no matter what was going on in any of our lives, we all knew what we would be eating Friday night. And once I started making my own pizza, Dominos and Pizza Hut stock must have plummeted; I got the whole family hooked on making their own. Dad will make his own dough on occasion. Mom makes different sauces. I come up with “weird” flavor combinations. Now that I have my PhD and I’m starting my first “real” job, I have to move really far away. Like to the point where it might be more time consuming to drive than to fly. I’ve been saying my goodbyes to various friends in the area, and I’m remarkably dehydrated from all the bawling. But as a farewell to my family I knew all I had to do was make it home for one last Friday night.

This is the last pizza I will make with my folks for a while. And according to my mother at least, it is the best pizza I’ve ever made. I hope you enjoy it.

APPLE, CARAMELIZED ONION AND BRIE PIZZA

INGREDIENTS:

  • Pizza dough
  • Flour for dusting and Pam or similar substance
  • Brie
  • Prosciutto, or other cured ham product
  • Apple, sliced (I used a sweeter, red apple. Don’t use Granny Smith)
  • White onion, caramelized

INSTRUCTIONS:

  1. Layer as follows: caramelized onion
    20140718_172542
    apple slices
    20140718_172734
    prosciutto
    20140718_173200
    brie
    20140718_173519
  2. Bake in oven for 14-16 minutes at 375-400*F or until the crust is golden and the cheese has melted.
    20140718_17572920140718_175914
2 thoughts on “Apple, Caramelized Onion and Brie Pizza

  1. Love thIs blog and got a little tearied reading it! Good luck in NC. I know you will find Fri. night pizza buddies and I ‘m sure you will see your amazing parents many Fri. nights LYL.

  2. This recipe looks great except for the little detail that brie and I have never gotten along in pizza form. But brie is more adventurous & bolder than mozzarella or provolone, which are the first cheeses to come to mind when I think of substitutes. You might have sold me on this awful idea, if only for an experiment 😉

    Your new job isn’t *that* soul-crushingly far from your parents, is it? (Don’t know if you have announced where it is, so I will refrain from saying.)

Leave a Reply

