Zucchini Pasta with Vegetarian Fixings

I am not a vegetarian or vegan. I was not raised by vegetarians or vegans. In fact, the opposite is true. I remember as a kid hearing my father chant “Large! Dead! Quadruped!” as  he’d carry a London broil or set of t-bones or filets to and from the kitchen and outdoor grill.

But then I moved to the southern version of hippy central. I was exposed to a very vocal vegetarian and vegan culture. As my circle of friends expanded, I came to know people with “dietary restrictions” including vegetarianism and veganism. Luckily for them I saw their pickiness (whether there’s a greater purpose behind it or not…let’s be honest: it’s a culturally accepted way to be a picky eater) as a culinary challenge.

I do not mind vegetarian food. Sometimes I even prefer it to meatier alternatives. But what I hate are vegetarian dishes that pretend to be meat dishes. Like seeing a veggie burger on a menu will irk me. I’ve tried veggie burgers; they don’t taste like the real thing, and if vegetarians want the real thing they should honker down and have some beef–I promise I won’t tell. Tofurky makes me want to go on a rampage. Shaping tofu like a turkey is not an actual substitute for a turkey.

Anyway…the recipe. This is fairly simple. It’s REMARKABLY filling–it was all I needed for my entree. It tastes healthy while simultaneously tasting delicious (which is rare and makes one suspect). I dare any meat-eater to try this dish and tell me they’re missing something.

ZUCCHINI PASTA WITH VEGETARIAN FIXINGS

INGREDIENTS:

  • Zucchini
  • Salt and pepper
  • Olive oil
  • Tomatoes, roasted
  • One egg
  • Goat cheese
  • Vinegar

INSTRUCTIONS:

  1. Shred the zucchini using a cheese grater or mandolin until you have “noodles”. Let them dry on paper towels until you’re ready to cook them.
    20140521_165318
  2. When ready to cook, place a small amount of olive oil in a skillet. When it’s hot, start warming the zucchini, seasoning liberally with salt and pepper.
    20140521_171807
  3. When the zucchini is warm, add the roasted tomatoes to the skillet.
    20140521_172117
  4. While that mix is getting warm, poach your egg (which will require vinegar and water). When the egg is poached, place it–along with goat cheese–on top of the tomato/zucchini mixture.
    20140521_172632
One thought on “Zucchini Pasta with Vegetarian Fixings

Leave a Reply

