Leg of Lamb

I had a sneaking suspicion a few weeks ago that we were gonna have some snow days. I had been especially depressed (applying for jobs in academia will do that to you), and I really didn’t want to be holed up by myself for an indefinite amount of time. Since my family and dog are only 75 miles away, I decided to go home. And I left just in the nick of time–actually drove through both morning traffic AND sleet (not fun). Especially since I was just bombarding my folks, I wanted to contribute something to the snowpocalypse meals. So I brought home all my groceries, and a few goodies from my freezer.

Among those goodies was a leg of lamb. The lamb had been raised, slaughtered, and butchered on campus–can’t get much better than that. I knew this would be a hit–my entire family loves lamb. And since my mother is paranoid, she insisted I cook this immediately in case we lost power. So, at 9AM on a Wednesday morning, I start cooking a leg of lamb.

I’ve done legs before. In fact, I do one every Easter and invite any grad students who couldn’t make it home for the holiday (note: I do not celebrate Easter, but I’m all about food, so…). I had never done a bone-in leg before, though. I didn’t want to butcher it out, I thought the bone would be good in the long run. But then I had to get a little creative in seasoning all the way through (it’s a LOT easier to season something that’s butterflied). I also was worried about the leg drying out (which I realize seems slightly counter-intuitive, but it was a major concern). It worked out well, though. Enjoy!

N.B. Again, because this was bone-in, I did this differently than I would a boneless. I would not recommend cooking this way if you have boneless (though the ingredients still work).

(BONE-IN) LEG OF LAMB

INGREDIENTS:

  • Leg of lamb (for this, I had a 10 pound, bone-in)
  • Salt and pepper
  • Fresh rosemary, chopped
  • Fresh garlic cloves, chopped
  • Olive oil
  • White wine
  • Water

INSTRUCTIONS:

  1. Chop the rosemary and garlic and mix together.
    20140212_084055
  2. Using a sharp knife, make holes in the lamb leg on all sides (go deep, you’re not scoring the meat).
    20140212_084109
  3. Pour some olive oil in your hands and evenly coat the leg.
  4. Take the rosemary/garlic mixture and stuff it as far as you can into the holes you created.
    20140212_084631
  5. Season the lamb leg with salt and pepper, and coat with any remaining rosemary/garlic mix.
    20140212_085017
  6. Place the leg on a roasting rack. At the bottom of the roasting pan, pour white wine and water (I started with 1 cup white wine and 2 cups water).
  7. Cook in a 350*F oven. Check first after 30 minutes and then in 15 minute intervals, adding more water to the roasting pan if it’s drying out. The 10 pound leg I cooked took an hour to cook.
    Half way there.
    Half way there.
    Done!
    Done!

    mmmmmm
    mmmmmm
Leave a Reply

