Chicken Tarts

I think I may be addicted to my muffin pan. Officially. I justify my almost-constant use by saying, “You’re a single woman, cooking for one, who hates leftovers. This is portion control.” When that doesn’t work, I say, “You’re just trying to use up leftovers…and with puff pastry around, why not?” I still think I’m going overboard.  Oh well. At least it tastes good, right?

CHICKEN TARTS

INGREDIENTS:

  • Puff pastry dough, plus flour for dusting.
  • Chicken breast, cooked and chopped
  • Half an apple (I used Macintosh), chopped
  • One large white onion
  • Olive oil
  • Pam or similar substance
  • Gorgonzola, crumbled

INSTRUCTIONS:

  1. Preheat the oven to 400*F.
  2. Slice the onion thinly. Cover lightly with olive oil and caramelize.
  3. Roll out the pastry dough and cut into strips to place in the muffin tray. You want overlap.
  4. Layer as follows: caramelized onion, chopped chicken, chopped apple, gorgonzola.
    IMGP4627IMGP4628IMGP4629
  5. Fold the pastry dough over the filling. Bake for 15-20 minutes, or until the cheese is oozing and the dough is golden-brown.
    I think they're done
    I think they’re done
    Up close and personal.
    Up close and personal.

     

One thought on “Chicken Tarts

Leave a Reply

