Brussels Sprouts and Bacon Pizza

I love pizza. It is one of my favorite foods to cook and eat. I am a self-proclaimed pizza snob, and I love experimenting with new flavor combinations. My friends and family have extreme faith in my pizza-making abilities, and every time I want to throw a pizza party it’s fun times had by all.

Since I’m cooking and eating for one most days, I’m trying very hard to make sure (“worst”-case scenario) that my meals are ones my friends like…you know, so I don’t have to deal with leftovers galore. When I said I wanted to try a new pizza, they were stoked. When I mentioned “Brussels sprouts”…I was on my own. Apparently I had gone too far. Even though I was adding bacon and (obviously) cheese, Brussels sprouts on a pizza is apparently an insane idea.

If you don’t make this pizza, it’s your loss. If there’s any complaint to be made it’s that the Brussels sprouts are a little bland…but there are undoubtedly ways to remedy that. I don’t know of a way to make this vegetarian–the bacon is a necessity. But, if you’re game like I am, or if you just like pizza, or if you want to see if MAYBE there’s a way for you and your loved ones to palate Brussels sprouts, this pizza is right up your alley.

BRUSSELS SPROUTS PIZZA

INGREDIENTS:

  • 1 pizza dough
  • flour for dusting
  • Pam or similar substance
  • A few cloves of garlic, finely chopped
  • Cupped handful of Brussels sprouts, thinly chopped.
  • At least six slices of bacon
  • Fontina, or similar creamy cheese–shredded.
  • Fresh mozzarella, sliced

INSTRUCTIONS:

  1. Preheat the oven to 375*F.
  2. Roll out the pizza dough using the flower and place on a non-stick pan, or Pam-sprayed pan.
  3. Layer as follows:
    1. Garlic
    2. Brussels sprouts
      IMGP4612
    3. Fontina
      IMGP4613
    4. Bacon
    5. Mozzarella
      IMGP4614
  4. Place in the oven for 20 minutes, or until the cheese is browning and oozing.

    Bet you'd eat your veggies if they looked like THIS.
    Bet you’d eat your veggies if they looked like THIS.
Leave a Reply

