Individualized Fall Tarts

Despite the fact the highs where I am are still in the 90s, and not a single leaf on a single tree appears to be dying any time soon….I’m gonna pretend it’s fall. If I dress in fall colors, and if I cook fall foods, and if I really get into football, eventually the weather will catch on and change.

I’m still struggling with this whole “cooking for one” thing. It truly sucks. But, I’ve at least discovered a way for getting around desserts. Two basics for solo dessert time: (1) puff pastry and (2) muffin pan. I suppose the muffin pan also works for people simply trying to exercise portion control.

Regardless, this recipe is (in my humble opinion) one of the better ideas I’ve had in a while. It’s fall, in a bowl, wrapped in puff pastry and then baked. Life doesn’t get better. You should really consider making this…like…now-ish.

FALL TARTS

INGREDIENTS:

  • 1 roll puff pastry dough (assuming you purchase a box with two rolls)
  • flour, for dusting
  • Dried cranberries
  • Golden raisins
  • Walnuts, chopped
  • One apple (I used Granny Smiths once and Fuji once), chopped
  • One pear (I’ve used Bartlett or Bosc), chopped
  • Bourbon (I recommend Bulleit or Ransom)
  • Brown sugar
  • Cinnamon, ground
  • Cloves, ground
  • Allspice
  • Nutmeg, ground
  • Pam, or similar substance

INSTRUCTIONS:

  1. Preheat your oven to 400*F.
  2. In a bowl, mixed the chopped fruit and the walnuts. That is, mix the chopped apple, pear, dried cranberries, golden raisins and walnuts in a bowl.
    IMGP4559
  3. Season the fruit with the spices to taste. Add a dash (definitely less than a full shot) of bourbon.
    IMGP4560
  4. Roll out the pastry dough (using flour as needed) and cut into rectangles. Spray a muffin tin with Pam and place the rectangles at the bottom. You want the dough to spill out (so you will not be able to fill all at once).
  5. Spoon the fruit/spice mixture into the dough.
    IMGP4564
  6. Fold the dough up around the top–it’s okay if these don’t completely close.
  7. Bake in the oven for 15-20 minutes, or until the smell becomes too enticing. Enjoy!

    Done enough for me!
    Done enough for me!
2 thoughts on “Individualized Fall Tarts

Leave a Reply

