Seafood Pasta

So, I got sick. Perfect timing–right when I’m finishing my thesis, applying for jobs, traveling to give talks. It was bad–had to cancel an appointment with an adviser. I knew this was probably the virus that was taking out most of the campus, and there’s really no point going to the doctor for a virus. My executive decision was to tackle this head-on; among other things, I wanted something spicy to clear my sinuses. The only things I could find up that alley were red pepper flakes and cayenne pepper. I chose the first and built the following meal around it. That’s right: this meal was created around the red pepper flake.

Despite not having too much of a palate at the time, I think this is a really good meal. It’s not overwhelmingly difficult, but comes off as very fancy–that can only be a plus, right? And the broth is to die for. Next time you’re sick, or just want some really good comfort food, I highly recommend making this.

SEAFOOD PASTA

INGREDIENTS:

  • Box of pasta (or home-made. I used linguine)
  • Seafood medley (I had a bag from Whole Foods that had shucked mussels, shrimp, calamari and langoustines)
  • One small white onion
  • Garlic
  • White wine
  • Butter
  • Two medium-sized tomatoes
  • One ear of corn
  • Salt and pepper, to taste
  • Red pepper flakes

INSTRUCTIONS:

  1. Cook the pasta. Set aside.
  2. Chop a few cloves of garlic and slice the white onion thinly. Place in a pan with 1-2 tablespoons of butter.
    IMGP4548
  3. Start to cook the onions/garlic. Remove the corn from the ear, chop the tomatoes and add those in too.
    IMGP4549
  4. Coat the bottom of the pan in white wine. Cook down as much as you want. Season with salt and pepper, and then toss the seafood into the pan.IMGP4550
  5. When that has warmed up, add the pasta. Mix together.
  6. Right before serving, season with red pepper flakes. ENJOY!
    IMGP4555
One thought on “Seafood Pasta

Leave a Reply

