Ricotta and Berry Custards

Honestly, the term “custard” is a bit of a misnomer…but the dessert has eggs in it and I wasn’t sure what else to call it.  I am slowly trying to expand my baking and dessert repertoire (still have a fear of cooking anything with yeast). This dish first appeared during my summer at home–again, trying to use a  lot of ingredients that were about to go bad. My initial batch had zero sugar. I had figured the berries would be sweet enough. Wrong. Tasted very bland. The second time I made this was for my birthday dinner–this is the perfect dish for ramekins and hence tapas/portion-control. Much better with sugar. Below are pictures from my third time making this dish, now back at my place. To vary things a little, I experimented with a new flavor combo: raspberries and walnuts. Success!

I will say it helps immensely if all of your ramekins are the same size. Since I am a graduate student, I did not exactly have that luxury–all my kitchen stuff is mishmosh.

This is really a great dessert. It is perfect for summer. Cooking in ramekins makes portion control easy. This also keeps well and can last multiple days in the refrigerator.

RICOTTA AND BERRY CUSTARDS

INGREDIENTS:

  • 15 oz. ricotta
  • 3 eggs
  • 3-5 tablespoons sugar (to taste)
  • Vanilla extract
  • 2-4 tablespoons flour (to desired texture)
  • Fillings:
    • Blueberries
    • Raspberries and Walnuts
  • Pam, or similar substance

INSTRUCTIONS:

  1. Preheat oven to 350*F.
  2. Spray ramekins with Pam, or similar substance.
  3. Mix all the non-filling ingredients in a bowl until smooth.
  4. Assembling:
    1. If using a blueberry filling, put a thin layer of blueberries at the bottom of the ramekin. Then, layer the custard mix and top with more berries.
      Layer one
      Layer one
      Zoom-in pre-oven
      Zoom-in pre-oven

       

    2. If using a raspberry filling, put a thin layer of raspberries at the bottom of the ramekin. Fold the walnuts into the custard mix. Layer and top with more raspberries.
      Again, first layer
      Again, first layer
      Zoom-in pre-oven
      Zoom-in pre-oven

       

  5. Depending upon your ramekin size, bake for 15-25 minutes. You can tell these are done when the berry juice from the bottom starts to bubble on top, and the ricotta has set.
    The batch pre-oven
    The batch pre-oven
    A done blueberry
    A done blueberry
    And a done raspberry
    And a done raspberry

     

Leave a Reply

