Mini Veggie Tarts

I actually have spent the last TWO WEEKS back at my place. I bought all my favorite healthy foods–including a lot of vegetables. Among other things this summer I’ve been blessed with cooking for three instead of one. Cooking for one sucks. It especially sucks when you’re still buying groceries for three. So I had all these great vegetables quickly going bad, in part because it was just me in the house. My fix was to use a birthday present (a 9 inch springform), some puff pastry, and have at it. It was my lunch/dinner for an entire week, but it was really good.

Fast forward to the “last hurrah” with my folks. I wanted to make this veggie tart again. As I’ve mentioned before, though, my parents have limited baking equipment. I also wanted to experiment with portion control and see if I COULD manage to scale this dish into something that wouldn’t last one person a week. Below is the result.

So, this was dinner last night. My parents LOVED the tarts–Mom insisted I blog about this as soon as possible. And they are pretty damn good if I do say so myself. I think the muffin size is about as small as you can go, though, due to the number of veggies. Consequently, this wouldn’t exactly work as a fancy finger food; however, you could totally serve it at brunches, or at tapas dinners, or as a side (which is what we did). And naturally, you could always just blow it up in scale and have it as an entree.

MINI VEGGIE TARTS

INGREDIENTS (makes 6):

  • Puff pastry (home-made or store-bought)
  • Two eggs
  • Salt and pepper
  • Olive oil
  • 1/3-1/2 bell pepper, finely chopped
  • 1/2 yellow onion, sliced thin
  • cup of spinach
  • goat cheese
  • Pam, or similar spraying substance

INSTRUCTIONS:

  1. Spray a muffin tin with Pam, or similar substance. Roll out your puff pastry dough and place in the muffin tin–you want there to be overlap.
    IMGP4466
  2. Caramelize the onion. To do that: slice the onion. Coat very lightly in olive oil. Stir almost constantly on medium-high heat until they become soft and dark.
    IMGP4464
  3. When the onions have caramelized, remove them. In the same pan, scramble your two eggs (which you have seasoned to taste with salt and pepper). You want the eggs to be softly scrambled–make sure they are runny.
  4. Ideally, blanch the spinach. If you can’t spare the pot, microwave it for about 20-30 seconds, or until the leaves are soft and bright green.
  5. Layer the puff pastry as follows:
    Onions
    Spinach
    IMGP4467
    Egg
    Bell pepper
    IMGP4469
    Goat cheese
  6. Fold the puff pastry over the top–it’s OK to have some goat cheese exposed.IMGP4470
  7. Bake for 15-20 minutes in a 400*F oven, or until golden brown.

    Served with chicken piccata--that recipe will come soon too.
    Served with chicken piccata–that recipe will come soon too.
3 thoughts on “Mini Veggie Tarts

Leave a Reply

