Bacon and Egg Pizza

Overshare time: I’ve never been that “into” dieting. I do not own a scale, and haven’t for…five years? I forget. When I go to the doctor and they have to weigh me, I close my eyes and ask them never to tell. I try to stay in shape; some months are better than others. But once you discover how much better you feel when you physically do NOT feel blabby or “blarghy”…you kinda put two and two together. I do not like greasy food or eating out and I especially hate fast food, so those are some easy-to-avoid vices. I keep track of my “weight” by seeing if my clothes still fit comfortably–I do not have the money to expand my wardrobe (literally and figuratively).

Having said that, I first got the idea for this pizza while I was on a diet. Specifically, I had seen a gal pal lose (and keep off) a significant amount of weight on the South Beach Diet, and since I was feeling “blarghy” I decided to give it a shot. Phase one is hell. No other word for it. Pure hell. In this phase there is basically no fruit, not a whole lot of dairy, and zero starch. And this lasts about two weeks. When my friends then decided on day ten to meet up at a new pizza parlor, I wanted to go on a homicidal rampage. But I went (and ordered a beet salad). My dinner companions ordered the “breakfast” pizza. Since I didn’t sample it, I don’t know all the ingredients, but I remember seeing an egg on top and thinking, “….okay.”

Fast forward two years, and I’m again traveling for work–this time in Seattle. A group of us were staying at a mansion in the university district, and consequently had access to a HUGE kitchen. We decided to have a pizza night and–being the self-proclaimed pizza queen–I made sure I had my hand in this meal. In order to keep costs low, we had quite a mish-mosh of ingredients already at the house. Among other things, we had Costco sized packages of bacon and eggs. So, I decided to give the bacon and eggs pizza a shot. It was INHALED, and it was good. Made it a week later back at my folks’ home, and those are the pictures you’re about to see.

My mother thought that this pizza could work for breakfast. I disagree. I think it’s WAY too rich–it might work for a brunch, but even that is pushing it. Note also that in the below pictures the egg is slightly over-cooked. You really need to know your oven when making this dish. The goal is to have the egg whites cooked, and the egg yolk slightly runny (almost like a poached egg); that way, you can “tap” it with your fork and get that extra special ooze.

BACON AND EGG PIZZA

INGREDIENTS:

  • Pizza dough, and flour for dusting
  • Mozzarella
  • Arugula
  • Garlic
  • Olive oil
  • Bacon
  • Eggs

INSTRUCTIONS:

  1. After rolling out the pizza dough, coat the base lightly with olive oil and chopped garlic.
    IMGP4443
  2. Layer as follows: thinly sliced mozzarella, arugula, bacon (uncooked).
    IMGP4445
  3. Bake the pizza in a 375*F preheated oven for approximately 10 minutes. THE PIZZA WILL NOT BE DONE AT THIS TIME.
    IMGP4446
  4. Remove the pizza, and crack eggs onto the top.
    IMGP4447
  5. Bake for an additional 2-5 minutes, or until the egg whites are done and the yolks are still runny.
    IMGP4450
2 thoughts on “Bacon and Egg Pizza

Leave a Reply

