Roasted Beet Salad

I know they’re very trendy right now, but I LOVE beets. The “hip” thing to do with them is roast ’em. When my parents eat roasted beets, they use them like you would a potato–with meat, as a side/starch. I decided I wanted to try a salad form of roasted beets. Originally, I thought it might be good to try to use the whole beet and saute the greens as well. But guess what? Whole beets (i.e., with the greens attached) are more expensive than the alternative. So, I nixed the idea of stem to root (that phrase makes me laugh…it’s like the vegetarian equivalent of nose to tail).

This was my first time actually working with beets. I knew they had the potential to stain. But there’s a BIG difference between knowing that they stain and experiencing the stain first-hand. Here are some tips in working with beets:

  • Wear black, or an apron, or something you’re OK never wearing in public again.
  • Coat your baking dishes and countertops, etc., with parchment and/or aluminum foil. Beets will stain cutting boards and make clean up a pain in the ass.
  • Clean any knives, forks, etc., quickly after use. Same goes with your hands.

ROASTED BEET SALAD

INGREDIENTS:

  • Beets
  • Greens (I used spinach, but I think arugula could also work)
  • Walnuts, coarsely chopped
  • Golden raisins
  • Goat cheese
  • Balsamic vinegar
  • Olive oil
  • Mustard
  • Salt and pepper

INSTRUCTIONS:

  1. Roast the beets. To do that, line a baking sheet with aluminum foil. Coat the foil and the beets (tips removed) in olive oil. Place in a 375-400*F oven for approximately 60 minutes.

    Done roasting!
    Done roasting!
  2. While the beets roast, toss the greens, chopped walnuts and golden raisins in a bowl.
    IMGP4427
  3. Make the dressing. For that, mix the oil and vinegar (traditionally people use a 3:1 ratio of oil to vinegar) together. Add mustard to add flavor (it’s also a common emulsifying agent). Season with salt and pepper.
    IMGP4426
  4. Let the beets cool. When ready to serve, toss the greens etc., in the dressing. Then peel and slice the beets into large bite-sized pieces.

    Note: I am in black. The beets are peeled and bleeding onto my hands.
    Note: I am in black. The beets are peeled and bleeding onto my hands.
  5. On a plate, place the tossed greens. Top with beet slices and sprinkle with goat cheese.
    IMGP4435
One thought on “Roasted Beet Salad

Leave a Reply

