Garlic Tart

This is another recipe taken from/based on the book Plenty. I cannot stress enough how awesome this book is. The food is absolutely beautiful, and it’s tasty as hell. The only issues in using this cookbook are

  1. Ingredients can get a LITTLE pricey (though it totally depends on what you’re making).
  2. This book is not comprised of 30 minute meals–you need time.

This particular recipe was a series of learning experiences on my part. Here are some cool little facts (as sharing is caring, and knowing is growing):

  • From previous experience with the cookbook, I know that whatever pie pans this chef uses are significantly larger than anything I can get my hands on (he uses 11 inches consistently, whereas I use 9 inches). So, I was prepared to “cook until it looks right” and not use the amounts of ingredients he specified.
  • When my father went to the grocery store for me and brought home “puff pastry dough”, I had no clue how fancy it could be. Granted, he was shopping at Fresh Market, but still. He bought me a package of this–which as you will note is a pastry dough that has won multiple food awards. But, beyond that, here are some fun facts about the product:
    • Bad news: the package he bought, which contained 14 ounces of dough (the recipe called for 13 ounces for an 11 inch pan), had a whopping 130 GRAMS OF FAT. I didn’t even know that was possible.
    • Interesting news: the same package also contained 20 grams of protein.
    • Good news: I successfully managed to use only half of the package, sparing my family and our arteries ever so slightly.
  • Pie beads. Now, I’ve been hiding out at my parents’ place this summer, and my parents are not bakers. Never have been. Never will be. So I frequently have to bring a lot of baking tools, pans, etc., to the house if I ever want to bake while home. But even I do not own pie beads. Now I’ve discussed how I regrettably usually do not make my own crusts, so that kinda is justified. For this recipe though, you really need them. I suppose I could have MacGyver-ed this situation and maybe religiously offended some relatives by using an old rosary, but I didn’t. And you really need pie beads. Cannot emphasize that enough.

Last notes before the actual recipe:

  • This reheats really well.
  • This should really only be used as a side-dish. It’s a little too rich for a main.
  • The changes I made to the original recipe (beyond just scaling back): I used sour cream instead of creme fraiche, and whole milk instead of heavy whipping cream.

GARLIC TART

INGREDIENTS:

  • Approx 7 ounces puff pastry dough
  • Flour, for dusting
  • 2.5 large heads of garlic
  • Olive oil
  • Balsamic vinegar
  • 1 cup water
  • Sugar
  • Fresh rosemary
  • Fresh thyme
  • 4.5-6 ounces drunken goat cheese
  • 4.5-6 ounces chevre
  • 2 eggs
  • 4 tablespoons sour cream
  • 4 tablespoons whole milk
  • Salt and pepper

INSTRUCTIONS:

  1. On a floured surface, roll out your puff pastry dough. Gently line it across a 9 inch pie pan.

    Thought this was hilarious. The thinner you spread it, the more your heart will thank you!
    Thought this was hilarious. The thinner you spread it, the more your heart will thank you!
  2. After cutting the edges as necessary, put your PIE BEADS at the bottom of the pan. Bake the crust for approximately 15-20 minutes in a 350*F oven.

    YOU NEED PIE BEADS
    YOU NEED PIE BEADS
  3. Prepare the filling. Peel the cloves from the garlic heads. Place them in a pot of water and blanch them for a few minutes.
  4. Drain the garlic, dry the blanching pot, and place the cloves back in the pot. Add some olive oil (just to coat), and start cooking the heads on high heat:
    IMGP4309
  5. After a few minutes, add one cup water and some balsamic vinegar. Simmer for about 10 minutes.
    IMGP4310
  6. Add a few pinches of sugar, a pinch of salt, and some chopped (fresh) thyme and rosemary to the mix. Continue to reduce.
    IMGP4311
  7. When the garlic is fully coated in a brown-like syrup, remove from the heat.
    IMGP4313
  8. Crumble your cheese and place in the bottom of your pie pan. Top with the garlic and syrup.

    Note: had to switch pans. YOU NEED PIE BEADS
    Note: had to switch pans. YOU NEED PIE BEADS
  9. In a separate bowl, whisk together the two eggs, whole milk, and sour cream. Season with salt and pepper.
  10. Pour the egg mixture into the pie pan, filling in any crevices left by the cheese and garlic. Make sure most garlic cloves are still exposed.
    IMGP4318
  11. Bake in a 325*F oven for approximately 40 minutes, or until golden brown on top. For garnish, use some fresh thyme.

    In front of the cookbook picture. Pretty close, right?
    In front of the cookbook picture. Pretty close, right?
One thought on “Garlic Tart

Leave a Reply

