Georgia Quesadilla

This was a dish I made for myself on one of my parents’ afore-mentioned “starve days”. My mother was especially happy because–again, as I’ve mentioned before–she had bought some peaches that were fixin’ to turn. =)

I’m one of those people who loves sweet salsas. Mango salsa, corn salsa, peach salsa. Love the sweet with the spicy. Granted, I like “normal” salsas too (and definitely can handle my spice)…but still…sweet salsas hold a special place in my heart.

In trying to think of what would “go” with peach salsa, I actually wanted a mild cheese. Hence the monterey. But then I needed to make a big decision; I had to decide either to go completely vegetarian on this one, or find some meat that wouldn’t overwhelm the peaches. In poking my head in my parents’ pantry, I saw a huge bag of pecans. I decided, “Oh, why the hell not?” and at worst, knew I was covering two of the four major exports of Georgia (all of which start with “p”, by the way. The list being peaches, pecans, peanuts, and pig).

This works well as a meal, particularly if vegetarians are involved. In larger quantities (and with smaller slices) this could work as an appetizer–with the fruit/nuts, it could even work with a brunch. The salsa can be made 1-3 days in advance.

GEORGIA QUESADILLAS

INGREDIENTS:

  • Two large flour tortillas
  • Four small peaches
  • One ear of corn (or one can of corn, drained)
  • One jalapeno
  • Lemon juice
  • Salt and pepper
  • Handful of pecans, chopped
  • Two handfuls of monterey cheese (approx. 4 ounces total)

INSTRUCTIONS:

  1. Make the salsa. To do that:
    1. Chop the peaches finely.
    2. Place the corn in a bowl with the peaches.
    3. Finely chop the jalapeno. Add that to the bowl. Season with salt, pepper, and lemon juice.
      IMGP4280
  2. To assemble. Layer as follows: cheese, salsa, chopped pecans.
    IMGP4292
  3. Fry in a skillet, or place in a 400*F oven for approximately 10 minutes.
    IMGP4293
Leave a Reply

