Lamb Burgers

I’m sure I’ve mentioned this before, but there are certain foods that I cannot resist ordering whenever I see them on a menu; one of those is lamb. I love lamb, which is ironic (a) because I hated it as a kid and (b) because it implies I actually inherited something from my mother and her side of the family. One of my favorite restaurants in town is this bakery that slowly expanded (culinarily and architecturally) into a “light-gourmet” restaurant. Their lamb burger is one of the tastiest burgers I have ever had in my life. It’s no joke; it is served with some kind of spicy mint sauce, and a fried egg, and feta, and arugula. It’s like magic on a plate.

While I am not religious at all, every year I would try to have people over for Easter–specifically, people who couldn’t make it home to “celebrate” with their family. Heathen that I am, the way I “get into the Easter spirit” is by making lamb. Usually, due to the number of people I host, I cook a whole leg. This year, however, was a little…smaller. Many of my friends from previous years have graduated and (literally) moved on. My remaining friends in my current town are all very religious, and had their own plans with church groups. My friends back in my home town (about an hour-and-a-half away) all had prior engagements. So…it was really just me this time. Thus for Easter 2013 I decided to recreate/personalize the lamb burger of my dreams.

LAMB BURGER

INGREDIENTS:

  • Ground lamb (I used a little less than a pound and made 3 patties)
  • Handful of spinach, finely chopped
  • Feta, crumbled
  • Garlic powder
  • Salt and pepper
  • Mayonnaise (we all have our preferences, but I’m a Dukes girl. Black label)
  • Dijon mustard
  • Worchestire sauce
  • Tabasco/habanero sauce
  • Rolls/buns (I used ciabatta buns)
  • (optional) Egg–one per burger

INSTRUCTIONS:

  1. For the patties:
    1. Place the lamb in a bowl and season with garlic powder, salt and pepper.
      IMGP4133
    2. Finely chop the spinach and crumble the feta into the mixture
    3. Mold the lamb/cheese/spinach mixture into equal-sized patties
      IMGP4135
    4. Cook patties in a skillet, flipping occasionally.
      IMGP4140
  2. For the sauce:
    1. In a bowl, mix the mayonnaise, mustard, worchestire sauce, and tabasco. Season with salt and pepper as desired.
      IMGP4136
  3. Assembly:
    1. Slice the rolls/buns, and smear a thin layer of sauce on the insides.
      IMGP4137
    2. Place a burger on top of the sauce.
      IMGP4141
    3. (Optional) Fry an egg in a skillet, and place on top of the burger.
    4. Serve!

      One with egg, one without
      One with egg, one without
Leave a Reply

