Stuffed Jalapenos

I am not a fan of the desert. Every year, there is a giant conference in Tucson, and for the last three years I have spent my spring break at this conference. Now when you spend all day inside listening to talks, the location should not really play that big of a role; however, just walking outside and seeing everything dead and prickly and having it be so hot all the time…I do not enjoy the experience from a geography stand-point.

This year on our afternoon off, instead of going to the desert museum or doing a desert hike, I walked to the nearest decent-looking restaurant and ordered a margarita. I’m talking to the stranger sitting next to me at the bar, and his cell phone goes off. He leaves to take the call, comes back, and says, “I’m buying you dinner.” When I asked him why his response was, “I come to this bar every afternoon. This is the first time I’ve ever seen you here. I just got a call from my realtor–I’ve been offered full asking on a piece of property I’ve been trying to dump for four years. I’m buying you dinner.”

I have to say, it was the most fun I’ve had in the desert. Since I was being treated, I told him he could order me whatever he wanted. Below is my attempt to recreate the appetizer. The original was deep fat fried; however, even as a Southern girl I can hear my arteries harden when I even THINK of “deep fried bacon”–so I baked the peppers. Also, the crab cake was technically “leftover” from the night before with my folks; I’m sure crab meat would work too.

STUFFED PEPPERS

INGREDIENTS:

  • Jalapenos
  • Crab meat–either fresh, from a can, or in crab cake form
  • Cream cheese
  • Bacon

INSTRUCTIONS:

  1. Cut your jalapenos length-wise, and (depending on how spicy you want it) remove the seeds. Place them on a baking tray.
    IMGP4128
  2. Mix the crab meat and cream cheese in a bowl. When thoroughly mixed, stuff the peppers.
    IMGP4129
  3. Wrap the stuffed peppers in uncooked bacon.
    IMGP4130
  4. Broil the peppers for approximately 15-20 minutes, or until the bacon is crispy and the cheese is oozing.
    IMGP4131
6 thoughts on “Stuffed Jalapenos

  1. If you grow your own peppers, take them right after picking, wash them and put them in a Zip Lock bag. Get as much air out as possible. That way you can enjoy stuffed peppers year round!!!!

Leave a Reply

