Guacamole

After a week of eating beef, my body needed a vegetarian/vegan cleanse. Growing up, I was never a fan of guacamole. I can’t even really say why. It just seemed to be this awesomely bad, bland, texture-less, baby-puke-colored goo. In my more adventurous foodie years, I still don’t order guacamole at most “Mexican” restaurants and I haven’t found a store-bought guacamole that I enjoy either.

So, I decided that I would make guacamole myself. I didn’t look at recipes–that would have been too “easy.” Just threw together a bunch of ingredients that I thought should be in guacamole; whether they actually are “normal” ingredients or not is another matter. If people who love guacamole and who know how to make “authentic” guacamole are offended by what is written below, my sincerest apologies.

GUACAMOLE

INGREDIENTS:

  • 3 Haas avocados
  • approx 1/4 cup red onion, diced
  • handful of fresh cilantro, diced finely
  • 2 medium-sized tomatillos
  • 2 medium-sized jalapenos, diced finely
  • lime juice
  • salt and pepper

INSTRUCTIONS:

  1. Remove the pitt and skin from the avocados, and place the flesh in a bowl.
  2. Toss in the finely diced pepper, and cilantro.
    IMGP4083
  3. Roast the tomatillos. To do that:
    1. Remove the husk, if they are still there.
    2. Cut the tomatillos into bite-sized pieces. Toss in olive oil.
    3. Broil the tomatillos for 10-15 minutes, or until the skin starts to wilt.
  4. When the tomatillos have roasted, toss in the bowl with the avocado and cilantro. Add the diced onion, and season.
    IMGP4085
  5. Add lime juice and additional seasonings to taste. Stir with a fork, breaking up the avocado in the process, and serve.
    IMGP4086
3 thoughts on “Guacamole

  1. Chili powder (NOT cayenne, just straight chili powder) is my secret ingredient. No heat, just some flavor.

Leave a Reply

