Vegetarian Reuben

Everyone has a favorite sandwich. Mine is the reuben. Considering only ONE ingredient is “Irish”, I don’t understand why this is considered a classic Saint Patty’s Day dish. Still, this sandwich is amazing to me. Why? Because I hate each ingredient by itself. I have never liked sauerkraut. Or thousand island dressing. Or any other ingredient (including rye bread). But somehow, when you put all of these things together, it becomes magically delicious.

OK, so then, why even experiment with taking away the corned beef? Isn’t this like making a vegan grilled cheese sandwich? Let me explain. The college-town in which I live is kind of a hipster-central for the area; consequently, there are a lot of vegetarian and vegan options in the restaurants (which is very rare for any town in the South but particularly one of this size). At one fairly-famous restaurant in town, I had my first “vegan Reuben.” Couldn’t resist. Had to figure out what that was. Learned that vegan Reubens are not my cup of tea. But then at a favorite gastropub, I had my first vegETARIAN Reuben. I definitely preferred this to the vegan version and honestly, I sometimes prefer it to the original (gasp!). So, instead of paying $8 plus the inevitable two or three beers at this gastropub (at an average of $6 a pop) every time I wanted a reuben fix, I decided that I should figure out how to make it myself. And I think I have.

VEGETARIAN REUBEN

Ingredients:

  • Marbled rye, sliced.
  • Tomato, sliced
  • Avocado, sliced
  • Sauerkraut, drained
  • Thousand Island salad dressing
  • Swiss cheese, sliced
  • Butter, for greasing the pan and toasting the bread

    Basically all the sousing. Note that the sauerkraut is in a paper towel to cut back on the mushiness of the sandwich.
    Basically all the sousing. Note that the sauerkraut is in a paper towel to cut back on the mushiness of the sandwich.

INSTRUCTIONS:

  1. Take two pieces of bread. Smear a thin layer of thousand island of the “insides” of the bread.
  2. Layer as follows: Swiss, avocado, sauerkraut, tomato, spinach.
    Step 1
    Step 1
    Step 2
    Step 2

    Step 3
    Step 3
  3. Place some butter in a skillet. Cook the sandwiches, flipping once.

    My dinner companions insisted on a live-action shot. So...
    My dinner companions insisted on a live-action shot. So…”Hello, world!”
  4. Serve with your favorite side and enjoy!
    IMGP4024
2 thoughts on “Vegetarian Reuben

Leave a Reply

