Fruit Smoothies

Remember me saying I had some extra coconut milk? Well, it has been put to good use. I looked at a bunch of smoothies recipes before making this (didn’t see any that called for coconut milk…). One ingredient that popped up quite a bit was “almond butter.” That seemed too expensive to me, so instead I soaked a bunch of almonds overnight in water (so I wouldn’t break the blades on my blender!) and threw them in; however, I hate saying this…it was not a good substitute. While my blender is intact, and while the flavor of the almonds was fantastic, the texture was a little grainy. So, I went back out and bought almond butter. Result: AWESOME. And I now have a new food addiction (almond butter is seriously magical. It will be popping up in more recipes).

FRUIT SMOOTHIES

INGREDIENTS (makes approx. 12 ounces of smoothie):

  • One banana, peeled, sliced, frozen
  • Medium handful of strawberries, chopped
  • Approx. 1/3-1/2 cup plain yogurt
  • Approx. 2 ounces coconut milk
  • 1-2 tablespoons almond butter

INSTRUCTIONS:

  1. Put all ingredients in a blender.
  2. When consistency is to your liking, serve.

    While it is a liquid breakfast, it's still pretty awesome.
    While it is a liquid breakfast, it’s still pretty awesome.
Leave a Reply

