Lentil Soup

Home again for the holidays. My father, for health reasons actually, has started baking his own bread. While it’s not really that cold down south, we decided to pretend that it was and have fresh-baked bread with soup. My mother wanted chili, but I’ve always hated the stuff–I know, I might not really be southern. I told her I’d handle the soup. The result is below. It was only the second time I’ve cooked with lentils, and the first time my parents ever had it. With some of the ingredients, I was really just “working with what we had.” One major suggestion for variation:

  • Choice of meat. Naturally, you could make this vegetarian; however, I think this could take on slightly different flavor combos given different sausages. I used ground pork when I made this; however, I could see sweet or spicy Italian, and even andouille sausages going really well with this.

LENTIL SOUP

INGREDIENTS:

  • One package lentils (mine was 10 ounces)
  • Approximately half a pound ground pork
  • Two carrots, chopped
  • One celery stalk, chopped
  • Approximately half of a large sweet (or white) onion
  • Approximately 10 ounces of tomatoes (roma, cherry, etc), chopped coarsely
  • 32 ounces low-sodium chicken broth
  • 16 ounces water
  • Two tablespoons minced garlic
  • Salt and pepper, to taste
  • Handful of dried oregano
  • Handful of dried thyme
  • Two bay leaves
  • Handful of fresh parsley

INSTRUCTIONS

  1. Take your soup pot and start browning your meat. When it has started to brown, take it off the heat.
  2. Clean your lentils and place them in the pot with the meat. Add all other veggies, spices, and liquids.
    All the veg.
    All the veg.

    Pre-boil.
    Pre-boil.
  3. Bring to a boil, then simmer for at least an hour (so the lentils cook). Can keep on low-heat until ready to serve.
Three hours later. Served with home-made bread.
Three hours later. Served with home-made bread.
3 thoughts on “Lentil Soup

Leave a Reply

