Clams on a Pizza–Two Ways!

There are certain foods and certain food combinations that are particular to the South, for example: shrimp and grits, collard greens and black eyed-peas. If you go up north, you will either not find these items at all, or you will find them done so horribly it’s no wonder Southern cooking gets a bad rap up there.

Now, one ingredient that definitely is used more in the northeast than the southeast (general statement here) is the clam. There’s New England clam chowder, Manhattan clam chowder, the “clam bake.” I have heard of clams on a pizza–hell, I have even HAD clams on a pizza once before. I figured this Southern girl could give this Yankee dish a shot.

In thinking about what ingredients would work with clams on a pizza, I was torn. Specifically, I had TWO different pizzas in mind and I really didn’t want to have to choose. So, I made both simultaneously–literally this was a half and half job. One side was very simple: mostly just clams, garlic, cheese and oregano. The other side incorporated prosciutto with the clams (I thought if bacon worked with scallops, why couldn’t prosciutto work with clams? I know it’s bizarre thinking…but work with me here).

Summary: both sides were VERY rich, but very good. I was happily surprised that the cheese didn’t overpower the other ingredients, as I had feared. I see the non-prosciutto pizza as being more of a general crowd pleaser–if I had to choose, I would say it was the less rich of the two. I’m not sure how I would serve these, though. Probably as an appetizer–if you try making this an entree you’re only going to be able to eat one slice and maybe a salad.

N.B. In the pictures, the top-half is the prosciutto pizza.

SIMPLE CLAM PIZZA

INGREDIENTS:

  • Pizza dough, flour for dusting, and Pam or similar substance
  • Thinly sliced fresh mozzarella
  • Shredded grana padano, or similar cheese
  • Garlic cloves, diced finely
  • Fresh oregano, roughly chopped
  • Whole clams (I used canned, since you can’t exactly find them fresh where I am)

    Clockwise from left: oregano (for half a pizza), grana padano (for whole pizza), garlic (for whole pizza)

INSTRUCTIONS:

  1. Preheat oven to 375*F.
  2. Roll out the dough.
  3. Layer as follows: garlic, fresh mozzarella, clams, oregano, grana padano.
  4. Place in oven for approximately 15 minutes, or until done.

    Post-oven slice

More pictures following second recipe!

PROSCIUTTO AND CLAM PIZZA

INGREDIENTS:

  • Pizza dough, flour for dusting, Pam or similar substance
  • Thinly sliced fresh mozzarella
  • Shredded grana padano, or similar cheese
  • Garlic cloves, finely diced
  • Prosciutto
  • Whole clams

INSTRUCTIONS

  1. Preheat oven to 375*F.
  2. Layer as follows: garlic, mozzarella, prosciutto, clams, grana padano.
  3. Bake for about 15 minutes.
    Pre-oven
    Post-oven

    Prosciutto-slice
One thought on “Clams on a Pizza–Two Ways!

Leave a Reply

