Squash, Goat Cheese, and Walnut Pizza

So…I see I have your attention… =)

For a while I’ve been meaning to experiment with nuts on pizza. Particularly walnuts. I feel like walnuts are hearty, you don’t really HAVE to chop them, and they have a natural sweetness to them so potentially they could work in savory as well as sweet dishes. But the question I’ve had for a while is “What pairs with walnuts on a pizza?” My decision to use squash was honestly a little…well, dishonest; I didn’t want to try this pizza alone, and my boyfriend loves squash so I figured “squash on a pizza” would be enough to tempt him into joining me.

Random but helpful note: this pizza reheats better than just about any other pizza I’ve made. I won’t wonder why. I will just accept this as fact.

SQUASH, GOAT CHEESE, AND WALNUT PIZZA

Ingredients:

  • One pizza dough (I used plain)
  • Flour for dustin
  • PAM, or similar cooking spray (unless you use nonstick)
  • Zucchini, thinly sliced
  • Summer squash, thinly sliced
  • Goat cheese (I used at least 8 ounces)
  • Walnuts, coarsely chopped

INSTRUCTIONS:

  1. Preheat the oven to 400*.
  2. Roll out your pizza dough and plop it on the pizza pan.
  3. Layer as follows: squash, cheese, walnuts.
    I am increasingly impressed with my own knife skills. No mandolin or slicer was used for this awesome level of perfection! =)

  4. Place in the oven for approximately 20 minutes, or until you’re too hungry to wait any longer.
Leave a Reply

