Mexican Calzone

So, recently I hosted a pizza party. The event was a blast–a bit too much of a blast for some; the next morning, my body felt like it had been hit by a truck, my throat and tongue felt like I had just coughed up a hairball, and my head was throbbing. Now everyone who has felt this way (and let’s face it, most of us have felt this way at one point or another) has their own rituals, their own foods that seem to help make the day a little bit easier. Most “next-morning” dishes include grease. That has never worked for me; whether I’m sober, drunk, or hungover, my stomach cannot…well, stomach…greasy food. I’m also one of those people who the “next-morning” only wants one meal.

Perhaps one reason why I was suffering so much the next morning was that not every pizza was served the night before. Since I was too lazy to roll out another hugh ball of dough, I decided instead of making a pizza for my one meal to take some of the leftover ingredients and make a calzone. Smaller, usually slightly greasier, and much quicker to make. Maybe some day in the not-so-near future I will go back and make this in pizza form, as I had originally intended. Until then, here’s my idea of “hangover food.”

Mexican Calzone:

Ingredients:

  • Pizza dough (I used half of a roll for my calzone).
  • Pepperjack cheese, shredded
  • Black beans, rinsed
  • Hamburger, cooked (I use 96/4 beef…told you I didn’t do “grease”)
  • Corn salsa
  • Pam, or similar spraying substance.
  • Flour for dusting

Instructions:

  1. Preheat oven to 375*.
  2. Roll out your dough. It is here that you will need the flour.
  3. Once you have an oblong calzone-shaped object, add the meat, cheese, beans and salsa. Be sure to keep away from the edges (since otherwise you won’t be able to close the calzone).
  4. Fold the calzone up, place it on a baking tray, and spray the top with Pam (this will help in making the crust a nice golden color–though honestly, I didn’t wait that long this time).
  5. Place in the oven and cook for approximately 15-20 minutes.

PICTURES:

All my ingredients, including my rolled out dough.
Ready to fold and place in the oven. My layering is black beans, meat, cheese, corn salsa.

Mmmmm...

One thought on “Mexican Calzone

Comments are closed.