Lessons From the Boy–Part II: Caramelized Onion and Gorgonzola Pizza

 

This was one of the first meals the boy ever made me. He said that he first had it in undergrad in a cafeteria. I still find this very hard to believe, as (a) what university–let alone a large-scale public one like he attended–would invest regularly in gorgonzola for its students?! and (b) cafeteria food NEVER is this good (of course, my undergrad was exceptionally bad, going through three “food service” companies just while I was there…).

In the last four years, this pizza has been made a countless number of times. I’ve made it for my folks; I’ve made it for my friends; the boy and I even brought it to a graduate-program potluck one year. Recently a part of me has toyed with adding spinach and/or walnuts to the list of ingredients; another part of me has asked, “Why mess with perfection?”

N.B.–Photos will be added later–the boy and I have decided to make this pizza this weekend! =)

CARAMELIZED ONION AND GORGONZOLA PIZZA

Ingredients:

  • One large, white onion–sliced
  • One package gorgonzola (if you get it in a block instead of crumbled, it’s cheaper. You need about 6 ounces minimum).
  • One pizza dough (whole wheat or white)
  • Flour for dusting.
  • Olive oil
  • Pam, or similar product

Instructions:

  1. Preheat oven to 375*
  2. Take about a tablespoon of olive oil and put it in a skillet. When the skillet is hot, throw in the sliced onion. Stir occasionally, but keep cooking on medium high–high heat until the onions have caramelized.
  3. While that’s going on, take your flour and roll out the pizza dough. Spray your pizza pan with Pam, and lay the dough out.
  4. Once the onions have finished cooking, place them on the dough. Top with gorgonzola. Place in oven for approximately 15 minutes, or until the cheese has begun to melt, and the dough has cooked through.

UPDATE: As promised, we did indeed make this pizza again. Here are some pre-oven shots!

