Lessons from the Boy, Part I–Best Milkshakes EVER

Not to brag, but my four-year anniversary is coming up, and instead of doing a mushy “wy wuv woo” post, I have chosen to share the recipes of (what are in my opinion) some of the best dishes the boy has made me over the years.

I’m not quite sure when/how this recipe came about. Probably around year 1 of our relationship. At the time, the ingredients were all staples in my house (now I don’t keep ice cream in the house…or perhaps I just can’t keep ice cream in my house…at least for long…). I just remember one night after dinner the boy offered to fix me dessert, and this is what he made. Mmmmm. We then started making this when hosting parties (it’s a pretty rich/filling shake, so you can make this “stretch”).

For those who are concerned with their food looking presentable, I recommend serving in a glass like the one below (which, if you can’t tell, is about a 4-6 ounce juice glass), or even a champagne flute could work.

Yes, my hand is mammoth. This is a 4-6 ounce glass, perfect for milkshakes!!!

Last, for those who feel the need to measure out salt and pepper when seasoning something, this recipe will drive you nuts. Just like me, the boy holds the philosophy of “just do it until it looks right.”

Ingredients:

  • Vanilla ice cream (the boy doesn’t like lumps in his shakes, so he softens the ice cream. All up to you.)
  • Coffee, cooled (I prefer the closest thing to a “regular, medium roast.” For two LARGE shakes you aren’t going to need more than 4 ounces)
  • Bailey’s Irish Cream, or similar product (I’d start with a shot per person, if you’re not making things “stretch”)
  • Chocolate chips

Instructions:

  1. Place ice cream, Bailey’s and chocolate chips in a blender.
  2. Turn the blender on. Start drizzling the coffee into the mixture.
  3. Blend until you have the consistency (again, the boy HATES lumps so he’s at this for a while), texture (you at least want the chips broken up) and taste that you like.
  4. To serve, pour into a glass, top with a couple of chocolate chips (as a “garnish,” if you will) and bottoms up!
One thought on “Lessons from the Boy, Part I–Best Milkshakes EVER

Comments are closed.