Garbanzo Bean and Spinach Mash

I don’t know why (well, okay, I DO know why) but I decided to go on a diet. Specifically, I’m trying out what basically is Phase One of the South Beach diet. Essentially, this means for two weeks I am going to have no complex sugars, which from a practical standpoint means no alcohol or soft drinks, no fruit, no starches (including rice and quinoa), and certain veggies are out too (like corn and carrots); I also get to eat less dairy and less fattening dairy; last, but certainly not least, I am restricted to one caffeinated drink per day.

What’s left, you may ask? Well, I’m always up for a culinary challenge, and this certainly is a culinary challenge. This is a side dish I first had in Spain, and decided to recreate once I got back home. Naturally, I’m using it now as both a starch and a veggie-esque side, but it is very filling, very simple, and very cheap (all great things for a grad student!).

Garbanzo Bean and Spinach Mash (enough for two people)

Ingredients:

  • 1 can garbanzo beans, drained
  • some spinach leaves, chopped finely
  • some finely chopped onion
  • cumin
  • salt and pepper to taste
  • dash of olive oil
Instructions:
  1. Put the olive oil in a skillet and drop the onions in. Let them start to cook.
  2. Drop the garbanzo beans in next. When they are warm, add the spinach.
  3. Season.
  4. When you’re happy with the flavoring and consistency, get a mallet (I suppose a potato masher would work just as well), and get your culinary-therapy freak on.
  5. Serve.

Photo:

Sadly, my camera has been…misplaced. I’ll upl0ad a picture later. =)

One thought on “Garbanzo Bean and Spinach Mash

Comments are closed.