A Happy Post

I’ve been thinking lately…too many annoying or depressing or pessimistic things happen in the average day that it’s sometimes hard to see what really makes you happy. What really makes you smile. So, I’m going to try something new. I’m going to take 10 minutes–right now–and write down anything that comes to mind. Well, not ANYTHING. I’m going to make a 10 minute list of things that make me happy, or smile, or just things that put me in a better mood. Here we go:

  • Clean sheets on a bed
  • The smell of clean laundry
  • A well-pressed button-down shirt
  • Puppies
  • Dogs in general
  • Cooking
  • The smell of rosemary
  • The smell of dill
  • Red wine
  • Music
  • Going to see live music, particularly jazz
  • Reading
  • Bookstores
  • Chenille socks
  • Chenille throws
  • Foreign languages
  • Trivia
  • Trivial pursuit
  • Gin rummy
  • Black and white movies
  • Rainstorms
  • The smell of a Christmas tree
  • The smell of cinnamon
  • Shellfish
  • Filet mignon
  • Sarcasm
  • Wit
  • Debates
  • Intellectual stimulation
  • Pasta
  • The smell of leather
  • Hot showers
  • The feel of having clean hair
  • Chai tea lattes
  • Coffee shops
  • Sweetbreads
  • Vanilla
  • Home-made cheesecake
  • Gravy with giblets
  • J.S. Bach
  • Brahms
  • Bill Evans
  • The Beatles–particularly George Harrison
  • Cheese–particularly soft cheeses
  • British murder mysteries
  • The sound of the cello
  • The sound of a baby giggling
  • Watching my dog wag her tail
  • Orchids
  • Gladiolas
  • Rubbing soft carpet between clean toes
  • Highs in the 60’s
  • Looking at Christmas lights with my glasses off
  • Paydays

Wow. That’s a lot for 10 minutes. And you know what? It has made me feel better. I think I might recommend this activity. And I may even do it again…who knows?

One thought on “A Happy Post

Leave a Reply

