30 Before 30

In an attempt to be more goal-oriented and positive, I have decided to make a list of 30 things to accomplish before turning 30. The reasons for blogging about the list will become apparent shortly. I made the list in May, 2010 (at which point I had not done a single thing on the list), and the timer is up in July, 2017. Here’s the current status:

1. Finish graduate school

2. Pay back car loan

3. Go to Europe

4. Own my own place

5. Learn to change a tire and my oil

6. Make my goal weight/fitness-level

7. Learn to drive a stick shift

8. Go to a vineyard

9. Become fluent in another language

10. Dye my hair

11. Run for charity

12. Plant and successfully manage a garden

13. Make a complete Thanksgiving dinner, solo

14. Learn how to dance

15. Set up a healthy retirement/investment account

16. Finish every unread or partially read book I own

17. Learn to swim

18. Visit the Smithsonian

19. Learn to ride a bicycle

20. Kiss someone at midnight on New Year’s Eve

21. Pull an all-nighter

22. Teach a non-terminal course at a college

23. Go to a Broadway show ON Broadway

24. Go to a karaoke bar and sing

25. Start and maintain a blog

26. Go to a rugby game

27. Have season tickets to a musical venue

28. Figure out exactly what my religious beliefs are

29. Give blood

30. Learn to accept being thirty.


7 thoughts on “30 Before 30

Leave a comment